What I Read in May

Hey everyone!

I haven’t done a reading wrap-up type post in forever, mostly because I’ve been reading only a couple books a month. However, this past month I have read a lot more, even though I’ve been busier this month than previous. I’m not sure if the two are related- if I read more when I’m busier or if it’s merely a coincidence. Even though this coming out a week into June, I wanted to share since May was an exceptional reading month for me.

I read four books in May. This doesn’t seem like a lot, but in comparison I read two books in April and two in May.  Broken down with some fun data points, of the four books, three were Young Adult, one was nonfiction, two were part of a series , and one was a new release.

The first book I finished this month was The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. I actually started this on my flight home from Virginia and got through well over half of it on a two hour flight. This is a book that draws you right in and keeps you reading. I found Tess’s inability to stop meddling charming and all the minor characters were equally charming. And so many twists! There were several times I thought I knew where it was going and was proved wrong on the next page. Once I got home, I did the post-travel things I needed to do then sat down to finish it because I just had to know what happened next.

After that, I read You Are a Badass by Jen Sincero. I had actually been working my way through this previous and since I was in a reading mood, I ended up finishing it up not too long after I got back. I had seen a lot of buzz about this book a few years ago and had it on my radar. Since the author had a new book coming out, I figured it was probably time to pick this one up. Sadly, I was unimpressed. I feel like there was nothing particularly revolutionary in this. It was just generic self-help speak told in a different tone than your standard self-help book. In fact, I cannot think of anything in particular that stood out to me about this. I know a lot of people who love it though; it’s just not for me, I may pick up her new book You Are A Badass at Making Money because that seems like that might be more to my liking.

I then waited to really start anything because I knew new Emery Lord was on the horizon. For me, a new release by a favorite author is generally a “drop-everything-and-read-it” thing but I was hosting a garage sale at the time so that had to take priority. Until the evening it was over and I finally got to sit down and read this book pretty much in one sitting. When you start to tear up on page seven, you know you’re gonna be in for a rough ride. I simply loved The Names They Gave Usand it’s definitely a book I don’t really know how to talk about because of emotions, much like When We CollidedHowever, I absolutely loved it and it resonated with me on many levels.

After that I had a bit of a book hangover (which as a term is hilarious to me) where I just kept looking at The Names They Gave Us, thinking about The Names They Gave Us, etc. It probably would have lasted a lot longer had The Long GameThe Fixer sequel arrived at the library at the end of that week. This book was just as fantastic as the first and was another I pretty much read in the course of an evening. I actually had to take brief breaks towards the end of the book because wow did everything escalate quickly. I wish there were going to be more books in this series because so much changed by the end and I would love to see how Tess handled it .

And that’s what I read in May! Not a lot mind you but considering the reading months I’ve had so far this year, this definitely feels like progress.

What have you read and loved recently? Let me know in the comments! 

Leave a Reply

