2017 Reading Resolutions

Hey everyone!

I’m a little late with this post this year. We’re already over halfway through the first month of 2017 and I am just now posting what I hope to accomplish this year. Fortunately, there are eleven more months in the year that I can leverage to accomplish what I need to do.

While last year, I focused on reading and nonreading goals alike, this year I’ve decided to focus strictly on reading and blogging related goals since that’s what this space has become for me, even though it didn’t start out that way. So today I am just focusing on bookish resolutions.

Goal 1: Read 30 books

I set this as my goals last year and exceeded it by reading 39 books. Originally, I thought I would up the goal to 75 but after giving it some thought, I realized I want to do more this year than just read. Not that there’s anything wrong with reading, but I have a lot of different interest competing for my time. Thirty feels like a reasonable amount for a year. That’s a little more than a book every two weeks. I usually average about two to three books a month, so I feel very confident in my ability to achieve this goal.

Goal 2: Post at least once a week.

Ideally, I would like to put out more than one post per week. But I know me and I know that if I try to bite off more than I can chew, that won’t work. I’m looking for a new job, I’m looking into little and big projects for the house, and planning competitions for Pokémon. Plus, I need to relax and want to spend time with my husband, family, and friends. I’m aware that these are all things other people have going on too, but I’m still working to find a balance in life. So I plan to post once a week, bare minimum.

Goal 3: Read more widely

I feel like I did pretty good with this towards the end of last year. I haven’t crunched the numbers on it, but I felt like I was picking up more diverse books. Not only do I want to continue that trend in my reading this year, I also want to branch out into genres I don’t have too much experience in- mainly adult fiction (but not “adult” fiction) and nonfiction. I love reading Young Adult and I expect to keep reading a lot of books from the genre. But I want to read more widely. This is probably my most vague goal as I don’t have a measurable goal per se.

Goal 4: Post about nonbook-related things.

I mentioned this earlier, but this blog didn’t originally start as a book blog. In fact, I left my previous book blog on Blogger to create this space as a nonbookish space. However, I have been in the book blogosphere for so long that book-related posts just come naturally to me. So I’ve sort of fallen on them as my crutch. This year I want to expand my blogging repertoire. Ideally, I will do one bookish post and one nonbookish post a week. But going back to the whole balance thing, I think doing a bookish post one week and a nonbookish the next will be enough.

Goal 5: Read more books I own.

If you know me, you know I am a power library user and an advocate of libraries. It makes sense- my mom was a librarian and I’ve been going to the library for as long as I can remember. But I also enjoy browsing bookstores and buying books. I have plans this year to turn what is supposed to be a formal dinning room into a library/bookish space in my house because my books are taking over my office. My issue is, even though I check out more books than I could ever read in two weeks, I feel like I am reading more library books than books I buy. So I plan to track where my books come from this year with the intent to read more books I own.

What are some of your resolutions, reading-related or otherwise? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

