2016 Bookish End of Year Survey

Hey everyone!

I’ve been following Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner for a few years now and her blog  continues to be one of my favorites. I’ve seen her Bookish end of year surveys over the past few years but never participated. Until now! Also, I feel like I have reached the point where I am nearly too late in doing this. Nearly. Being sick for the past couple weeks has slowed me down significantly.

2016 Stats

Number Of Books You Read: 39
Number of Re-Reads: None. I don’t do a lot of rereads
Genre You Read The Most From: Young Adult Contemporary

Best in Books

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

When We Collided by Emery Lord! You can read more about my favorites in my Best Books of 2016 post!

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas. I just didn’t enjoy it like I had the previous two books and it was a struggle to get through and put me off finishing the rest of her series and her books entirely.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  

All the Rage by Courtney Summers. I picked it up without knowing too much about it since it was readily available as an ebook for my library. And I was blown away with how much I enjoyed it and how mad it made me.

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

I’m not really a book pusher. It’s just not in my nature. However, I did get my mom to read Sorcerer to the Crown  by Zen Cho this year. And I feel like I talked about https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21979832-the-girl-from-everywhere?from_search=true a lot. Of course I did. Because it was so good.

 5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Started: The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig. Technically I think it’s a duology but whatever still counts.

Sequel: See How They Run by Ally Carter.

The only series I finished this year was the Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan. So obviously, The Blood of Olympus is the best series ender.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

I’m going to cheat and pick two. Emery Lord for favorite new-to-me author discovery. Heidi Heilig for favorite debut author. I just love them both their books and as people.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Bring Me Back by Micalea Smeltzer. I don’t read a lot of romance that isn’t Young Adult, but I bought and read this at the recommendation of a friend and I ended up really enjoying it.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

This another one I am going to cheat and pick two. For action-packed and thrilling, I’m going with Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas. I read it in a day and it kept me hooked. But for unputdownable book of the year, I’m going to have to go with This is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp. This is another one that I read in a day and I literally could not put it down if I tried. It’s one that just sucks you in and you have to know how it ends.

 9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Easily When We Collided by Emery Lord. It’s one I’ve already gone to and reread passages when the mood struck. I don’t reread a ton of books but it is one I could definitely see myself rereading.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon. I really enjoyed this when I got it from the library and wish I had a copy because the cover is so pretty in person.

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

This is one that was a challenge for me because I felt like all the characters I read were equally memorable. No one really stands out above the fold. However, I am going to go with Prunella from Sorcerer to the Crown for no real reason other than when I think of that book, I think about how great she is.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

This is another one that is a struggle for me to answer because I read a lot of well-written books. But I am going to pick The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon because of the way she wrote the perspectives of each and every character, including the universe.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

All the Rage by Courtney Summers. Like I said, this was a really surprising read for me (and a rage-inducing one). And since I read it in September, I think I have thought about it at least once a week.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas. Considering the fifth book in the series came out this year, I think I was a little late to the party this year.

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

“My little sob noise almost becomes a laugh. My uncle has severe anxiety. And a sweet little apartment in San Francisco and my cousin Pip and these great friends whose laughs sound like a big, cacophonous symphony together. My mom and lived with Mitch for a short while when I was little. I used to fight to stay awake so I could hear the group of adults laughing around the kitchen table. Mitch has his work at the museum; he has the Golden Gate Park runs and wonderful food. He has medication and therapy. He’s had some hard weeks in a great, big life.” –When We Collided by Emery Lord.

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

Shortest: March Book One by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell. (128)

Longest: House of Hades by Rick Riordan (597)

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. There were certain parts at the end of this book that made me gasp audibly.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Zacharias & Prunella from Sorcerer to the CrownI love a slow build in relationships.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Paige and her friends in The Start of Me and You. The friendship in this book is amazing. They are all unique and all bring something different to the table. The group dynamic was amazing.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

See How They Run by Ally Carter. This was no surprise because I have loved all of Ally Carter’s books.

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

I mentioned this earlier but I read Bring Me Back by Micalea Smeltzer solely at the recommendation of a friend.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

I’m not really a fictional crush person, but I loved Max from The Start of Me and YouHe’s just adorably nerdy.

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

I can’t choose between these two: The Girl From Everywhere and If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo. Both were just so good and I can’t wait to read more from these authors.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

Another one where I have to choose two: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken and The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig. These both are time travel books and both were really good at making the different time eras feel different.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

We Are All Made of Molecules by Susin Nielsen. This is one I started to get myself out of reading slump and while it does deal with some heavier topics, overall, it was just a really cute and fun read.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

I am not someone who cries easily at books. But Bring Me Back definitely had me tearing up because the book is about losing your significant other.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

This is a weird question for me because I hear about a lot of different books just due to following a lot of bookish people on the internet. But one I haven’t really heard a whole lot about is I Woke Up Dead at the Mall by Judy Sheehan. It’s not a life-changing book by any means, but it’s an enjoyable read and gave an interesting perspective about the afterlife.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

I don’t know if it was soul-crushing per se, but Leave Me by Gayle Forman was a very interesting book. I feel like it confronts the reader with a bunch of ideas about family and parenting and I just had a lot of feelings while reading it.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

Burn Baby Burn by Meg Medina. I don’t have any definitive reasons as to why, but when looking at the books I read this year, I feel like I really didn’t read anything like it.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

All the Rage by Courtney Summers. The title kinda says it all but this is a very anger-inducing book.

Your Blogging/Bookish Life

 

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

This is another one where I cheat and have two. Esther at Chapter Adventures and Alison at Hardcovers and Heroines. I found both of them The Broke and Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday feature and since then have kept checking back to read their posts.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

About halfway through the year, I started to do something different. Rather than posting reviews of every book  I read, I would do three mini reviews in a post and call them recent reads. That alleviated a lot of stress as to doing in depth reviews of every book I read. However, I fell behind doing those too and haven’t done a review style post in four months. I definitely want to change that in 2017. As for my best review. it’d probably be my review of Throne of Glass.  I just think that one turned out really nice.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

Probably my Best Books of 2016 post. I haven’t done a ton of discussions and that’s another post I felt turned out really well.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I didn’t do a whole lot of bookish events in 2016 (something in the cards for 2017 maybe?) But I did see Gayle Forman so that was pretty cool. Also I attempted several readathons during the year and was successful at a couple of them.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

Joining Litsy! Litsy is my favorite bookish thing of 2016. I’m sure this has been said a lot but it’s like Goodreads and Instagram had a baby with all of the good parts and none of the bad.

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

Balance. Working full time plus blogging plus other hobbies plus relaxing. It can get to be a lot. Blogging has always been a hobby for me (A hobby I’d like to take more seriously but a hobby nonetheless) and there a lot of different things competing for my attention sometimes.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

According to my stats page, my Top Ten Beach Reads post did the best this year in terms of views. Which is kinda a random post to do well.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

This is kinda narcissistic but I wish my If We Were Having Coffee post had done better. I mean, it did pretty average but those are always some of my favorite posts to read.

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Litsy. See above.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Yes and no. I completed my Goodreads goal of 30 books, but I had also committed to Book Riot’s Read Harder challenge and did not complete that. However, I’m choosing not to feel guilty about that because it did challenge me to read outside my comfort zone and that’s a win in my book.

Looking Ahead:

 

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

Continuing Gail Carriger’s Finishing School series! I read the first book, Etiquette & Espionage  back in 2013 and loved it. And yet I have not read any of the other books in the series and it is now complete. This needs to be a priority

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord. 2016 made me a huge Emery Lord fan and I can’t wait to read her next book.

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. This book has gotten so much buzz already but I just know it’s going to be amazing.

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig. After talking about how much I loved The Girl From Everywhere for what feels like forever, I simply cannot wait to read the next one.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

Every year, I’ve had a blog, I feel like I say I want to post consistently and I’m saying it again this year. In 2016, I feel like I did decently well once I found my grove. I had a least one post a month. However, this year I am going to challenge myself to one post a week. (I’ve already missed the first week this year, but I am only setting the goal now so it doesn’t count!) Ideally, I’d like to do 2-3 posts per week but right now, I think one is reasonable.

6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

I don’t have an answer for this because I don’t read ARCs.

Did we have any of the same answers? Let me know in the comments! 

4 thoughts on “2016 Bookish End of Year Survey

  1. Esther @ Chapter Adventures says:

    Awwww, you are so sweet for including me here 😀 Thank you, you made my day ❤
    Also, I loved This Is Not A Test and Please Remain Calm by Courtney Summers and ever since I've wanted to read all of her books, but never had the chance. All the Rage is a tough one because of the theme, but I've heard amazing things about it and I think it's a very important read, so hopefully I'll pick it up soon. If you haven't read her other books, I recommend them 100%.

    Like

    • Fiona says:

      I’m glad it made your day because I love your blog! All the Rage is challenging because of the topic, but I really enjoyed it. I definitely want to pick up more of her other books some time soon. I’ll have to look for the ones you recommend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

