Readathon Time: The Baby It’s Cold Outside Readathon

Hey everyone!

I have decided to do another readathon! Based on the moderate success I’ve had with week-long readathons in the past, I figured it was time I did another! The Baby it’s Cold Outside readathon is hosted by Read. Sleep. Repeat. and runs from December 17th-24th. So right up until Christmas! Since I haven’t been super feeling the holiday spirit this year, I think this is something fun I can do that may help and can be a present for myself.

This readathon is designed to help you finish up any stray books you promised yourself you’d get to this year or finish up your Goodreads challenge. I fortunately finished my modest challenge of 30 books back in October, but I had intended to finish the 2016 Book Riot Read Harder Challenge. Turns out, there are quite a few tasks I still need checked off.  While I don’t think I will complete the challenge at this rate, my focus is going to be on crossing off what I can for the remainder of the tasks. And coming up with a system for ensuring I complete the 2017 Read Harder Challenge.

The TBR 

As with all of my TBRs, this is just merely a suggestion of what I might read. I am way too much of a mood reader to plan my reading. There is also a bingo card to go with this readathon but I don’t know how many boxes I will be checking off.

My current reads are Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow and Leave Me by Gayle Forman.  Hamilton checks off the read a biography and read a book about politics boxes for the Read Harder challenge and Leave Me doesn’t check off any boxes. Both of these are pretty large books, so conceivably it could take me the whole week to read these two. For backup though, I have Lumberjanes Vol. 1 Beware the Kitten Holy by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Shannon Watters, and Brooke A Allen. This counts as a non-superhero comic that debuted in the past three years and as something  I could read aloud to my cat if need be. Beyond that, I don’t really have a goal in mind other than to read books that I own but haven’t read.

Honestly, if I finish the massive book that is Alexander Hamilton, I’ll be satisfied. It’s something I would love to finish before the end of the year. If I finish more than that, even better.

I plan to be pretty active on social media with the twitter chats in this readathon, though if the past is any indication, I will probably forget to tweet most of the time. You can also follow my reading progress at Goodreads. Depending on the amount of time I have during the day, I may also participate in the post challenges they have going on during the week.

Are you participating in this readathon? What are you going to read? What reading challenges have you left unfulfilled? Let me know in the comments. 

2 thoughts on “Readathon Time: The Baby It’s Cold Outside Readathon

Leave a Reply

