Top Ten Tuesday: New to the Queue

Hey everyone!

It’s Tuesday, which mean it’s Top Ten Tuesday. Top Ten Tuesday, as always is brought to us by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is ten books you have most recently added to your To Be Read pile. This is a series I’ve been kinda interested in starting on the blog for awhile but have never really gotten around to it. I want to do it for more than books though- I want to include podcasts, TV shows, YouTubers, etc. For today’s post though, I’m just going to stick to books since it’s for Top Ten Tuesday. I’m also not going to include any books on my new releases post (I’m not sure what order these are coming out yet, but if it’s not out, it’s coming soon!) since I will have already talked about those in a different post. Let’s get started!

One. You in Five Acts by Una LaMarche

Somehow this missed me when compiling my November releases for that post. Then when I started to see buzz about it on Twitter, I read the synopsis and it definitely seems like my kind of book. I’ve read a few books that have a school for the performing arts somewhere in the books, either in the background or a core setting.  Plus, the cover is gorgeous.

Two. So Good They Can’t Ignore You: Why Skills Trump Passion in the Quest for Work You Love by Cal Newport

Long title aside, I heard about this book on the last episode of the Dear Book Nerd podcast, where it was recommended as part of an answer to a question. The questioner was wondering about a job where they could read novels for a living, which sadly don’t exist. Because I currently feel kinda stuck in terms of what I want to do professionally, I feel like I should just start adding books like this to my reading wheelhouse.

Three. 12 Steps to Normal by Farrah Penn

Long ago, there was the book blog/ booktube channel I loved called I Eat Words. Farrah was part of the project and for awhile, she was one of my favorite book bloggers. Sadly, all the contributors over there had to end the site for personal reasons But I still follow her on Twitter, especially since at the time she was trying to get her own book published. This is that book. It doesn’t come out until 2018, but I have it on Goodreads to be read shelf so I don’t forget!

Four. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake 

I vaguely remember hearing about this book when it came out and it seemed like something I might be interested in, but I never really pursued it. But I just read Three Dark Crowns by the author and really enjoyed it (and cannot wait for the next book, of course). One thing I want to do more of in my reading is read more back list. So when I read a new release by an author I like, I immediately check out if they have any back list I might be interested in. The only sad thing about this is that this book looks like it would have been an excellent Halloween read but that time has come and gone.

Five. Velvet Undercover by Teri Brown

I actually saw this book on someone else’s Top Ten Tuesday list a couple weeks ago! (I don’t remember who’s list it was unfortunately :/) Anyway, something you might not know about me is that I find the First World War really interesting, especially in the fiction that came out of that time. It’s just really interesting how the world changed because of it. And this book is set during that time period and the main character works for MI5 as a girl guide, doing her bit. I also love spy stories so this seems like it will  be a hit on a lot of different levels for me.

Five. Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar by Cheryl Strayed

I just started listening to the Dear Sugar podcast (late to the party, I know) and I thought this might be a good way to bridge what I’ve missed from the podcast. Plus, I like self-helpy books. I think there’s always something to be gained from other people’s perspectives and a good opportunity to reflect on things. The podcast itself is an advice show that covers a ton of different topics- pretty much anything you could imagine. I almost wonder if it would be better to read Strayed’s other work (I’ve had my eye on Wild for forever) but I’ll probably start with this.

Six. Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson

See, this is a book I feel like I had no idea existed until its sequel came out. It came out during that time I wasn’t really following young adult books too heavily and didn’t really know it was a thing until the sequel came out recently. I’ve heard it described as a western, which is not a genre I usually get into. But it also has fantastical elements to it, which are bound to keep my attention.

Seven. Ghost by Jason Reynolds 

Not gonna lie, this book wasn’t on my radar at all. I don’t read a lot of middle grade in general (pretty much just Rick Riordan and the occasional other book) and I don’t naturally gravitate towards sports books- not to say I don’t like them more that I was never really into sports growing up so they aren’t naturally on my radar. But it seems like it will be really good, so I’m interested!

Eight. March: Book One by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell

The third book in this series was a National Book Award Finalist, and though I am sure it’s not necessary, I wanted to start the series at the beginning. This is the story of Congressman John Lewis, a key figure of the civil rights movement and an American icon. Book One begins his story living in rural Alabama and his life-changing meeting with Martin Luther King, Jr. My game plan these is to get the three from the library together and binge read them back to back. Plus, they are graphic novels which adds a layer to the text.

Nine.  Raymie Nightingale by Katie Camillo

The last National Book Award Finalists for today! This is another middle grade pick that wasn’t on my radar at all until it was a finalist. This reminds me of Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy in that the both has beauty pageants in them. That’s pretty much where the similarities end. Raymie has come to realize everything depends on her. If she wins the Little Miss Central Florida Tire Competition, maybe her dad will see her picture in the paper and come home. This looks like a delightful read, and it takes place in 1975, so it has a historical fiction bent to it as well.

Ten. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

This book has been floating on and off my to be read shelf for awhile. On the one hand, it fits in with a lot of books I’ve enjoyed in the past. However, I’ve heard mixed things on it from sources I trust. She had another book come out last month, and I’m not sure which I’ll pick up first.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: New to the Queue

  1. @lynnsbooks says:

    I also need to read Anna Dressed in Blood – it’s been on my shelves for such a long time that I’m not sure I’d even be able to find it now!
    And the Rae Carson series – I’ve heard lots of positive reviews for that series so I’m very tempted to pick them up – quickly!
    Hope you enjoy.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

