I’m Writing a Book!

Hey everyone!

It’s November, which means a lot of things to me personally. It’s the month my husband and I started dating many moons ago. It’s Thanksgiving, which really marks the beginning of the holiday season for me. And this year both Pokemon Sun and Moon and Gilmore Girls: A Year in Life come out in November, so it’s basically the best month of the year. It’s also National Novel Writing Month, and this year, I’m participating and fully committing myself to finishing.

 

I’ve talked about NaNoWriMo in the past in various other media in my life. I first heard about it while I was in high school, which I attempted at the time but thought it would be better if I didn’t have to transcribe it after school (People didn’t bring personal computers when I was in school- or tablets.) Then I tried when I was in college but November was always paper month and I thought I would have more time after I graduated. Since graduating, I have realized the idea of “more time” is a myth- there is no such thing. It all comes down to prioritizing time. So I am determined to make it work this year.

There are obstacles every year, but fortunately I know what mine are up front. The biggest one is probably our family trip to Florida at the end of this month. Firstly, I will be away from my desktop, so any writing I do will be on my phone or by hand. Then my time won’t really be my own, which is fine but it makes scheduling writing time a bit of challenge. The second obstacle is Pokemon Sun and Moon. For those of you who don’t know/haven’t guessed, I am a massive Pokemon fan. New Pokemon games are like a holiday for me, which is why I’m happy to already have this time off for my trip because there is no way I would get it any other way. (Yay lacking seniority at work by the number of years I’ve been alive!) I’ve made a deal with myself that I’m not allowed to play the game until I’ve reached my word count for the day and hopefully, come November 18, I’ll be able to hold myself to that. I’m also slowly upping my hours at my second job for the holiday season, which will also detract from my writing time.

As for my novel itself, it’s about a girl who’s two best friends leave for college and she’s left behind in a way. Not in an intentional sense- her friends aren’t necessarily abandoning her- but she feels left. There are some other things going on in her life too that I haven’t quite ironed out yet, but it’s just a first draft and it doesn’t have to be good. It’s an idea I’ve been playing with for awhile now- I know where the story begins and where it ends but the in between has been murky for me. I been playing with a few different book ideas for the past few months, and this is easily the one that I’m most excited about/can pull off/don’t need to do millions of hours of research.

As for the blog, I still will be trying to maintain a schedule of two posts a week, which is what I strive for week in and week out. I’m trying to get ahead too, especially with my trip at the end of the month where I won’t be able to do any blogging. If I drop off the face of the earth here though, that’s why. I’ll still be on Twitter though!

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo? What are you writing about? Let me know in the comments. 

 

One thought on “I’m Writing a Book!

Leave a Reply

