October Favorites & Reading Wrap-Up

Hey everyone!

So I know I mentioned doing a wrap-up at the end of each month but October has honestly flown by for me and I didn’t get a lot of reading done. In fact, I’ve only read two books at the time of writing. But I do have a lot of new favorites so I thought I would revert back to monthly favorites this month.

Books I Read:

Since I only finished two books this month, I thought I’d talk about both of them.

Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho

It took me a solid month to read this book, not because it wasn’t an awesome book or fun read (because it was and I loved this book!) I just wasn’t in the mood to read for whatever reason. Anyway, I’ve talked about this book a lot before I read it and now that I’ve read it, I’ll keep talking about it. It’s an amazing read and I can’t wait until the next book comes out.

Where She Went by Gayle Forman

I read this not too long after seeing Gayle Forman speak in Kansas City. I had read If I Stay years ago and really enjoyed it but never got around to reading Where She Went. Until now. I’m kinda glad I had some distance between the two since I was able to enjoy them separately. Where She Went  deals with the aftermath of Mia’s choice in If I Stay. Obviously, it’s amazing because it’s Gayle Forman, but I would definitely pick this up if you loved If I Stay. 

Favorite TV Show: New Girl 

I originally watched New Girl as the first season came out my freshman year. I continued to watch through the second season. Then I lost interest/life got too busy and I never felt inclined to pick it up again. Until a couple weeks ago, a coworker mentioned it to me and told me it “seemed like my kind of show.” So I picked it up again and rediscovered all the reasons I love it. I can relate to Jess and I love her relationship with CeCe and the boys are all funny. I’m still working my way through what’s available on Netflix, but I kinda know what happens based on not actively avoiding spoilers the last five years.

Favorite Makeup: Dark Lipstick

I’ve gotten really into makeup over the past few months. I’ve started doing it most every day just because I feel more confident with foundation and mascara on. One thing I haven’t been wearing daily is lipstick. Now in part that’s because I don’t have a ton of time in the morning to put on much besides foundation, concealer, and mascara. Plus, I also drink coffee out of a travel mug in the morning (the same travel mug six days a week, to streamline the whole process) and I would get tired of seeing previous days lipstick on the mug. However, on my rare days when I can, I’ve been finding myself craving a dark lipstick. I didn’t have any for awhile but I recently purchased two- e.l.f. cosmetics moisturizing lipstick in the shade Wine Tour, a recommendation from one of my coworkers as her favorite fall shade. It borders on too dark for me but it also fades into a nice lighter berry color. If I’m feeling super bold, I’ll go for this. Otherwise, my sister-in-law and I were talking fall lipsticks one day and later she sent me a picture of the shade Divine Wine in Maybelline’s Color Sensational Creamy Matte line. This more of a red berry that looks more of a dark red as opposed to a purple color. I love both and can’t wait to keep wearing them more in the winter months!

Favorite Podcasts: The Babysitters Club Club

I rarely branch out into new podcasts. I tend to keep a steady rotations of my favorites and that’s enough to get me through the week. However, when I find a new podcast, I instantly go ahead and download their back log. That’s what has happened here. I’m about halfway through all of the episodes now and they are hilarious. I find myself laughing while I’m cooking dinner, folding laundry, driving, etc. Jack and Tanner are hilarious and the theories they derive from the text are fascinating- something I could never come up with on my own.

Favorite Blog: But First Coffee

I have been following Kallie’s YouTube channel for awhile now and really enjoy her videos, but I’ve only recently gotten into her blog. I honestly don’t know why it took me so long because I really enjoy her content. She writes about blogging, beauty (which is primarily what her YouTube channel is), and her life.I love her style and her humor, plus she’s a fellow coffee-obsessed person. I also love her makeup videos, especially when she takes different drugstore products and does side-by-side comparisons.

What are some of your favorites from this month? What did you read? Let me know in the comments. 

Leave a Reply

