If We Were Having Coffee

if-we-were-having-coffee

Hey everyone! I’ve been wanting to do a series of posts like this for awhile, similar to the Perpetual Page Turner’s series of “If We Were Having Coffee” posts. And with how hectic this week/month/year has felt, I figured it was high time I finally got one post out. So grab a cup of coffee, tea, or even water and let’s chat.

If I we were having coffee… I’d tell you I finished my book goal of 30 books for the year this month! Considering what slow reading years I’ve had the past couple years, I’m really excited to have completed this goal. I don’t plan to stop reading any time soon so it will be fun to see how many books I actually finish this year. I’d ask you about your reading goals and what you’ve been reading. 

If we were having coffee… I’d tell you that I’ve been pulling back from social media in a lot of ways,  partly because one night I realized I spent nearly all day looking at my phone. My real wake up call was this past Monday when I realized I was letting what other people were posting affect me far more than it should. I actually read this post about a social media detox that inspired me to ease my way out. (He takes it further than I would though because he even blocks YouTube, which I watch the same way others would watch tv.) It was really interesting to see how his thoughts developed over the course of thirty days. I’m nowhere near that yet- I’m not gonna lie, I have Twitter open on another tab of my browser. But I did delete the Facebook app off my phone to prevent mindless scrolling. I’d ask you if you ever felt you needed a break from social media or if you’d ever done a social media detox. 

If we were having coffee… I’d tell you how I’m cautiously excited about our family trip to Orlando over Thanksgiving. I say cautiously excited because I have a habit of building things up in my head only to be disappointed when they aren’t what I imagined them to be. So I’m cautiously excited about most things. I’m really just excited to go someplace different with my husband and spend some time with him since we work opposite shifts. I’m not a big theme park person so that doesn’t hold any appeal for me, but Pokemon Sun and Moon will be out my then, so I’m looking forward to playing it on the ride down there. I’d ask you if you have any trips left this year/what are your favorite things to do in Orlando.

What would you tell me if we were having coffee? Let it all out in the comments section below! 

2 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee

  1. Kate says:

    If we were having coffee I’d be drinking a chai latte with soy milk 🙂 I’d tell you that I haven’t been reading as much since I started by new job, since those 8 hours I spend at work used to be spent reading. I would also tell you that I deleted the FB app from my phone halfway through reading your post. Finally, I would tell you that although I’m not a big fan of amusement parks (due to motion sickness) Disney World has the best shows to go see.

    Like

Leave a Reply

