September Wrap-Up

 

Hey everyone!

I’ve mentioned a little bit how I’ve given up doing monthly favorites because I don’t try too many new things on a monthly basis. Plus, I tend to love things seasonally as opposed to monthly. However, after writing my Summer Favorites post, I realized that all my months were starting to blur together. So we’re going to do both! The difference is, my monthly wrap-up will cover what I’ve read the past month and what’s been going on with me in my personal life.

I ran into an issue at the beginning of the month where the books I was wanting to read kept having to go back to the library. I started both Alexander Hamilton and Queen of Shadows but couldn’t finish them in time before having to return to the library. I wouldn’t say I was really busy towards the beginning of the month, but I did have some things that took away from my reading time. We went to a Royals game and hung out with my husband’s family over Labor Day, I worked a little at my second job, and went to the playoffs in one of my online Pokemon Leagues then won the whole thing! The only book I was actually reading during this time that I ended up finishing was If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo and tells the story of a girl named Amanda who moves to a new town, attempting to keep her secret, which of course, is revealed by the end of the book. I also became an Android beta tester for Litsy, my favorite bookish app, which I am on constantly now that I can use it again.

On the 19th, I found myself wanting to read again. Work was getting slow again and I found myself perusing the available now eBooks on my library’s eBook website.  While a lot of it didn’t appeal to me but I did come across We Are All Made of Molecules by Susin Nielsen, which I had heard about previously on the All the Books! podcast. I actually didn’t remember too much about it from the podcast but I remembered the title and it sounded good! And it was! I enjoyed both Ashley and Stewart POV and how both of them saw the same thing differently. This is by no means a light read because darker things happen towards the end, but the book ends on a high note.

After finishing that, I was motivated to go back and finish If I Was Your Girl, which was an amazing read! I’ve never read anything with a trans protagonist before so it was definitely a new experience for me, but I would love to see more stories too. I’m glad I took my time with it because it gave me time to think about all the different elements at play. My sole complaint with this book is that some things just ended a little too neatly after the big reveal, but it was still a really good book all around.

Also after finishing  We Are All Made of Molecules, I wanted another ebook to read at work since we were still in the midst of a slow week. So I read All the Rage by Courtney Summers, which was another interesting read for me. It tells the story of a girl Romy who was raped at a party before the beginning of the book. However, no one believes her, and she becomes isolated in dealing with that trauma. I think her attempting to cope with that is the main focus of the book, but the plot is more focused on a missing girl, who has connections to Romy and her rapist. What straight up amazed me about this book were the terrible things the other kids said to Romy. I wasn’t surprised and found it very believable, but it really stood out to me. There is a little romance in this book but as you’d expect, it’s complicated. I really, really enjoyed this and think about it regularly. Some things get resolved in the book and others are just not that simple. Highly recommend.

After reading All the Rage, I felt like I still needed an ebook for work, but I also wanted a physical book to read. I had gotten Sorcerer to the Crown awhile ago and never got to it, so I had checked it out again in the hopes of starting it. I’m still reading this now and really enjoying it so far. As a fantasy novel, it’s obviously very different from everything else I’ve been reading recently but it’s been a refreshing change of pace. As for an ebook, I saw that Someday Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham was available. As a Gilmore fan and a recent Parenthood viewer, I knew I had to pick it up. And it was exactly what I expected/wanted: cute story about a girl trying to break into acting while also trying to meet a self-imposed deadline. Initially, it seemed like it might be a romance heavy book, which I’ve been avoiding recently but it had just the right amount of relationship drama.

As for the rest of the month, the last week of September is known as birthday week in my family. Both my parents and both my aunts have birthdays over the span of 10 days. I kinda slacked on birthday week this year since it crept up on me, so I’ve been kinda busy with that. Otherwise, I’ve just been looking forward to colder weather, the holidays, our trip in November, and Pokemon Sun and Moon.

What did you read in September? What are you looking forward to in the coming months? Let me know in the comments! 

Leave a Reply

