Series to Finish

Hey everyone!

I love series, but I am terrible about finishing them for several reasons. Either it’s not finished yet and I have to wait for the books or I can’t keep the momentum going getting books from the library or I lose interest. However, one promise I made to myself earlier this year was to do better about finishing series, especially before starting new ones. I’m also including duologies in this because they should be SO EASY to finish and yet there are a couple I have yet to complete.

series-to-finish

Need to finish:

The Alice Series by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

I’ll say part of the reason I haven’t finished this series is because I lost track once I graduated from high school, a feat Alice had yet to accomplish, despite having been in it longer than me. But I also have a lot of ties to reading this series growing up since I started reading it in sixth grade. The last book was published in 2013, and I still have three books left in the series. I’m not ready to finish them and become a real adult!

Starcrossed by Josephine Aneglini

This is one where I read it and really enjoyed it, but honestly wasn’t in the mood for it/not in the mood for series in general. But as of right now, I’d say I liked it enough to read the whole series. However, I’ll probably have to go back and reread the first one before I continue on.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

This one I started way back in April so I would hopefully be caught up by the time the last book came out this month. And I fell one book short. I read the first two close together but just wasn’t in the mood by the time Heir of Fire came around. And once I finally got through it, I decided I needed a break from the series. Then I started Queen of Shadows and did not finish it at about 25% since the ebook was due. It’s definitely a series I want to get back to and finish, but I also want to be in the mood for it so I’ll get maximum enjoyment out of it.

Duology (read one not the other):

Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie & Sophomores and Other Oxymorons by David Lubar

This one made the list because I didn’t actually know a second book had come out until I was digging through my read shelf on Goodreads looking for series for this post. It only came out last year so I don’t feel that bad. I read the first one in eighth grade and again when I was a freshman in high school; back then, this book really spoke to me and I really enjoyed it. Now, as a college graduate, I don’t know that I would enjoy it as much, but I’d still like to know what happens next.

If I Stay & Where She Went by Gayle Forman

Have you ever tried not to cry on a plane? I have, when reading If I Stay. I read it the same year the movie came out but have yet to watch the movie because I haven’t wanted to cry my eyes out in awhile. However, I have yet to read Where She Went or other works by her, in spite of giving it a glowing review way back when. I think part of the reason I haven’t read this particular book yet is because I loved Mia so much and reading If I Stay from her perspective. Where She Went is told through Adam’s perspective and I’m just afraid I won’t love him the same.

Not all books out yet but want to finish:

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabba Tahir

This has been sitting on my kindle forever and I finally, finally got around to it in July. And as expected, I love it and can’t wait to get my hands on the sequel, whenever that happens. Plus, it was announced there will be a book three and four, so I am equally excited for those!

Embassy Row Series by Ally Carter

Ally Carter is honestly an auto-buy author for me. I have been reading, loving, and buying her books for years. I am actually caught up in this series( Surprising, right?) and am just waiting for the final book to come out this December.

Finishing School series by Gail Carriger

I talked about this series pretty recently, but it deserves mention again. This is a really excellent steampunk series I would love to return to. I thought I had read the second one, but apparently I’ve only read the first. I loved the first one, so I definitely need to catch up on all of these. I also not sure how many books are in this series, so there’s a good chance all these are already released too.

Not sure I’ll finish:

Gemma Doyle Trilogy by Libba Bray

Ok, backstory, I read the first two of these in high school. Devoured the first in a day, the second in a couple days. Then when I got to the third one, I just couldn’t. YEARS PASS. Calendar years and I decide to reread the first two in preparation to attempt the last one again. It takes me a bit longer but I get through them relatively quickly. Then I just cannot get through the last one. I buy it on clearance at Half-Priced Books, still can’t get through it. I don’t know if it’s the shear size of the book or if I have developed a mental block with The Sweet Far Thing, but I honestly don’t know if I’ll ever get to it. Even writing this, it makes me want to give it another go, but it’s so daunting especially since I would probably have to reread the first two again since it has been so long.

Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

This is a series I picked up to see what the hype was all about. I feel like you can’t go anywhere in YA land without hearing about these books. And I did not love this like I saw everyone else loving it.Yet I read the second one too, because I wanted to give it a decent shot. The second book didn’t convince me any more that this was a series I needed to read. The story was interesting enough, but I found the main character annoying and wasn’t invested. I even considered reading the third book because I heard it got better after the first three but why should I waste time on a series if I have to read the first three of six books for it to get good? So no likely going to be picking this up again. I’ve considered picking up the prequel series because that looks promising but not likely.

Maze Runner by James Dashner

This is one I read last year that just didn’t wow me. I liked it, but I felt like I was waiting forever for something to happen. There was just a lot of dead space in between plot points that wasn’t doing anything. I’ve heard the second book gets better, and it seems like it would from the end of the first book. I still don’t think I will pick it up though?

What are some of your unfinished series? Which one should I finish first? Let me know in the comments! 

Leave a Reply

