Top Ten Tuesday: My Fall TBR List

It’s Tuesday, which mean it’s Top Ten Tuesday. Top Ten Tuesday, as always is brought to us by The Broke and the Bookish. Fall is finally here, and today’s topic is books on our fall to be read list. For my list, I also tried to pick books that give me that fall feeling when I look at them, whether I think I’ll actually get to them in the next couple months or not. Let’s get started!

ttt-09%2f27

One. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

This book actually just came out a week ago! I heard about it on the All the Books! podcast and it sounded right up my alley. Every generation, a set of triplet girls is born. They are then separated and trained to become queen and eventually kill one another for the title of queen. I’ve never read anything by this author previously but her books have always been on my radar and this one has gotten a lot of good buzz so far so I am definitely interested.

Two. The Diviners by Libba Bray

This one has been on my radar for awhile. I’ve started it a few times and never finished it for one reason or another. I actually own a copy now that I got from Half-Priced Books. I’ve read some of Libba Bray’s books before, but that was so long ago now I’ll be coming into it with fresh eyes. It has some spooky paranormal elements to it so it will be a great read closer to Halloween.

Three. The New Guy (And Other Senior Year Distractions) by Amy Spalding

Here’s an unusual pick: Fall also means back to school (well technically end of summer but you get the idea). And since I got this in the BookMail YA box in July, this one appeals to me as lighter read in contrast to all the darker books on this list. Plus, once I finish it, I can justify the next BookMail YA box that’s coming out in October.

Four. The Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suna

Somehow I missed what a big book this was? Going back to the BookMail YA box, I got a tote bag with a quote from this book and a design similar to the cover. And I liked the quote and the design and thought, “I should read that.” Then I looked up the synopsis and thought, “Ok it’s a little outside of what I usually read but I can dig it.” It also has a supernatural elements to it, so I imagine it will great to read on a stormy night.

Five. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas

In addition to all the spooky reads, I would love to finish some series this fall. I actually started this one not too long ago but the eBook had to go back and I wasn’t super invested in finishing it anyway. However, I really want to finish the series, even though I think the same magic I loved about the first couple has rubbed off. But I want to know what happens, so I will definitely get to it.

Six. Waistcoats & Weaponry by Gail Carriger

Before this series came out, I remember seeing a blurb of the first book and thinking, “Oh yes, this is definitely a book for me.” Then I read the first one and loved it. Then the second one came out and I read it and loved it. Then I did that thing where I just stopped and never knew a third book came out (or a fourth!) And I recently came around to that discovery and I must know what happens next!

Seven. The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

This one was on my radar over the summer, so it’s not a super fall feelings read. But it looks amazing and has time travel and sailing, two of my ultimate weaknesses. Plus, I recently followed the author on Twitter and she is rad.

Eight. Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older

I originally found this author through his YouTube channel. Then when I read the synopsis of his book, it seemed like something I would really enjoy. Plus, it’s a series. I’ve heard great things about it so I’m waiting for the fantasy mood to come along so I can devour it.

Nine. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

This combines a lot of things I enjoy in my fall time reads: it’s a series, it’s sci-fi, and it’s a fairy tale retelling. What more could you ask for? This series has been on my radar for forever, and I actually own this book as well, so I really have no excuse not to get it read.

Ten. Anything I need to read to finish Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge

Way back in January, I decided to commit to the Read Harder Challenge even though I wasn’t particularly in a reading mood at the time. So far, I have completed 18 challenges so far without excessively trying. The remaining challenges I have, however, will require me to branch outside of young adult fiction comfort zone for the most part. (Pictured: Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow because one of the challenges is to read a biography and based on my recent obsession with Hamilton I feel like I will have little issue getting through this, even if it is a bit intimidating.)

What are some books on your TBR for the fall? Let me know in the comments! 

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Fall TBR List

  1. Shoto says:

    The New Guy seems like a fun read among all your other picks 😛 I LOVE THE LUNAR CHRONICLES I HOPE YOU ENJOY CINDER 😀 QoS wasn’t my favourite but I hope you like it 🙂
    Great list 😀

    Like

  2. Michelle says:

    I have been meaning to read The Diviners forever but I think I am put off my the shear size of it! I am easily daunted by large books and I need to get over it haha. Anyway I hope you can get to these books this fall and I hope you enjoy them 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

