Summer Favorites

summer-favs-banner

Hey everyone!

I’m back with more favorites! Towards the end of February, I did a Winter Favorites post since I had been terrible at doing monthly favorites and blogging in general during the winter. Since I am overall a creature of habit and rarely try new stuff to share on a month to month basis, I figured I would stay with the trend of seasonal favorites rather than monthly.

Favorite Book: When We Collided by Emery Lord

OMG THIS BOOK. I love it. Easily one of my favorite reads this year. I loved it so much I had to go back and read all of Emery Lord’s back list, thereby making her one of my favorite authors. While I loved those books as well, this one holds a special place in my heart because it just understood me. Vivi and Jonah feel like real people- they have problems, same as anyone else but they aren’t defined by their problems. They are so complex and it’s an amazing read. I haven’t stopped thinking about it since I read it in June, went out and bought a copy after I read it, and am eagerly anticipating her next book.

Favorite Music: Hamilton: The Original Broadway Cast Recording

So I am really, really late to the party on this one but I just listened to Hamilton last  month, and it is absolutely as awesome as everyone says it is. I struggle getting into things when they are really hyped up so I tend to wait until the hype dies down. I almost wish I hadn’t waited with this because it is that good. I would love to see it live one day, but I honestly don’t know when that will happen. Some of my favorite tracks are “My Shot”, “Satisfied”, and “Nonstop.” I highly recommend it if you like history or musicals.

Favorite Makeup Product: Maybelline FitMe Matte and Poreless Liquid Foundation 

So every couple months, I decide to try a beauty product I have never used before. A couple of months ago, it was liquid foundation and I selected this one. And while I liked it, it wasn’t used to applying it so it took so much time in the morning. So I continued to use an oldie but a goodie for me, elf  flawless face powder for a long time as something quick and easy in the morning. However, I don’t know if I grabbed the wrong thing or what but I picked up last time is certainly not the same. So I ended up using this a lot more as it gave better coverage than my other option. And as I got better applying it, I began to enjoy it even more. It’s a very simple foundation- it just makes me look less oily and give sheer to medium coverage. I definitely plan to expand to try more liquid foundations, as since I’ve begun using this one regularly I have almost completely used it up. But this one is nice and simple and I’ll definitely come back to it.

Favorite Hair Product: Redken All Soft Shampoo and Conditioner 

For those of you who don’t know, I am not a hair girl. It is thick and unruly and I wore it down until I discovered hair ties that didn’t pull and have never looked back. Most days I wear it in a low pony or occasionally I’ll wear it down.  Back in April, I got my hair cut by an old elementary school friend who was in school to do hair (She has since graduated yay!) It has been so long since I had cut it and she did a great job, so I asked her what I should use on my hair shampoo and conditioner wise. She recommended this and the Paul Mitchell Awapuhi line.  I tried the Paul Mitchell first but I noticed more breakout on my forehead after I started using it. So after I used it up, I decided to try the Redken All Soft. And I’ve never looked back. It doesn’t weigh down my hair like I was afraid it might and it doesn’t break out my forehead. I will probably switch up some still but I bought a a liter of each during Beauty Brands Liter Sale and no regrets so far.

Favorite Podcast: The Dex Podcast

It’s been awhile since I talked about a podcast on here.As much as I enjoy podcasts. I don’t really venture out and try new ones too often. I’ve been watching the Dex on YouTube for years; I originally found their channel in the hype leading up to the release of Pokemon X and Y. But I had never listened to their podcast until last year when I remembered they had one while discovering podcasts on my phone. It’s another Pokemon news show, but I just really enjoy the attitude Alex and Kellz have. They think critically about the news and any discussions they have and they both come across as positive people. I look forward to their podcast every week.

Favorite Life Event: Pokemon National Championships

Probably one of my favorite events this year not just this past season. In early July, I traveled to Columbus, Ohio to compete in the Pokemon National Championships. I was not expecting to do well by any stretch of the imagination- I don’t really care for the current format and frankly I’m not very good at this game. But I got to meet the Kanto Cast Crew! It was great to hang out with Blue and Yellow, plus meeting OldManTup and KevinVGC and hanging with them all weekend.

What are some of your summer favorites either products or events? Let me know in the comments. 

One thought on “Summer Favorites

Leave a Reply

