Recent Reads: New Favorites

Hey everyone!

This is a series I started on my blog when I realized I was reading a lot but was unable to keep up reviews here. So this series showcases what I’ve read recently (recently being up to my interpretation) This is an easy way to help me catch up on my reviews but also not feel pressured to write in depth reviews for every book I read. Originally, the idea was that I would still group books in the order I read them or by series, but today, I wanted to try something a little different. Since I’ve been in a reading/blogging slump recently, I thought I’d just talk about some of my favorite books I read recently.

25663637

One. When We Collided by Emery Lord

This is easily my favorite book I’ve read this year. There are so many beautiful lines in its pages. It tells the love story of Vivi and Jonah and the sort of complications their lives entail. It covers the topics of depression, grief, and mental illness in a genuine way. I already want to reread it and went out and bought my own copy after reading it for the first time. This is not the last you will hear of this book or author from me.  I basically have not stopped thinking about this book since I read it in June.

18304322

Two. Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

This is a more recent read and another book that felt incredibly real for me. To start, I don’t remember the last time I read a book where a teen worked in a fast food joint, which is a job I know a lot of teens have. Second, I loved all the Dolly Parton elements. And finally, I loved Will and the body positive message throughout the book. I keep saying this about young adult books I’ve been reading and at some point I’m going to have to find a new way to describe books, but it feels real and genuine. Like these characters are people I would know and fleshed out, complex individuals because that’s what people are. Will is more than her body- she has friends, romantic relationships, family issues, and so on.

27774758

Three. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Story time: My husband and I are at the Chicago airport and I am just about to run out of books to read on our way back from our honeymoon. So naturally, we stop in an airport book shop. And I see this and vaguely remember seeing a lot of buzz about it on BookTube in the past couple months. But I don’t pick it up because I’m not sure I’ll be into it. A few months later, I buy the ebook version when it’s on sale for like $3. But I don’t pick it up. Then last month, I finally picked it up since I knew the sequel was coming out soon. And honestly, I don’t know why I waited so long. It was so captivating and so good. It’s about Laia, a slave, and Elias, a soldier, and is told in each of their perspectives. The setting is kind of interesting in that it pulls a lot of thematic  elements from ancient Rome. It’s not set in ancient Rome, however, so it’s more of a fantasy book as there are some fantastic elements as well. Anyway, both Laia and Elias are really compelling characters. I also feel like this book was setting up a lot of things for the next book, so I’m excited to see where this story is going.

What have you been reading recently? Have you read any of these? Let me know in the comments. 

Leave a Reply

