My Next 5 Books

Hey everyone!

I rarely plan out my reading because I am such a mood reader and guilty of checking out too many books and returning so many unread ones. Recently, though, I’ve been working on culling my to-be-read pile into books I actually want to read and not pressuring myself into finishing all of them. If I start a book and I’m just not in the mood for it, I don’t guilt myself into finishing them. It’s taken some practice, but I also don’t go overboard with placing books on hold. Rather, I’m focusing on getting through what I have, so I think I actually have my next five books planned out. These are in somewhat order but it’s not set in stone.

One. Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho

I remember Rebecca on the Book Riot podcast raving about this one when it came out and it sounded like something that would be up my alley. It took me awhile to remember to place it on hold after graduating and having more time to read. Then after picking up my hold, it has taken me forever to get around to it. I don’t know if I’m somewhat afraid it will be disappointing or if I just truly haven’t gotten around to it. Either way, I’ve used by all my renewals and it’s due this month so I have to read it.

Two. Rise of the Rocket Girls: The Women Who Propelled Us From Missiles to the Moon to Mars by Nathalia Holt

I may or may not have already started this one when I was trying to figure out what to read next at one point. I got a couple of chapters in and while I was really enjoying it, I was just more in the mood for fiction. But, I am determined to read more nonfiction, and since this is written in a narrative style, I think it will do the trick.

Three: Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow

Basically, the reason I need to get through the first two books is so I can start this monster as soon as possible since I have all three out from the library currently. After finally, finally listening to Hamilton I have quickly become obsessed and want to read the book that inspired Lin-Manuel Miranda to create the musical. Plus, I’m a huge history nerd to begin with and would love to learn more about that era of history.

Four: Fire by Kristin Cashore

In my last post, I mentioned that I wanted to revisit and finished this series, especially after reading and enjoying so many fantasy titles. However, whenever I got Graceling, I just wasn’t feeling it. I used this as an incentive to take a break from fantasy and kinda fell into a bit of a reading slump after. However, I still placed this on hold with Overdrive, so I think I’ll give it a shot without rereading Graceling once my hold comes in (which should be soon) Since they are very different from my understanding, I think I should be able to jump in with little issue. And if I feel so inclined, I can always go back and reread Graceling.

Five. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas

This is the last book I need to read in the Throne of Glass series before I’m all caught up and ready to read the final book in October (other than the prequel). Though I didn’t love Heir of Fire as much as I have the other books, I’m still excited to see how the story progresses.

Those are the next five books I plan to read! What’s nice is that since I am so far ahead in my challenge to read 30 books, I’m not super worried about getting behind (I’m only five books away actually.) Plus it allows me to spread out my reading more with the only stressful part being library due dates.

Have you read any of these? What did you think? Should I switch up the order of them? Let me know in the comments. 

Leave a Reply

