Books I Would Like To Revisit

Hey everyone!

Every so often, I think back on books I’ve read before and think, “Man, I would really like to revisit that story.” Mostly likely, it’s a series I’ve never finished and I would like to go back and read them from the beginning before continuing it. Or it’s a book I feel I didn’t get originally but feel like I would have a better understanding of now. Or it’s a book I’ve read and liked but remember nothing about it. Here are some titles that have come across my path recently that I’m thinking I need to reread.

graceling

One. Graceling by Kristin Cashore Read in July 2012

Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight. But then she meets Po and she doesn’t know how her life is about to change and what terrible secrets she’s about to uncover. 

I was a little behind the curve of this book; it was relatively popular when I was in high school but I didn’t even pick it up until the last book came out. And I remember really enjoying it, but I just never continued on with the series. I think the next book, Fire, was told from a different perspective or something and I wasn’t sure how I felt about that. Recently though, I’ve seen this book come up in conversation a few times and how the series as a whole is excellent, which has led me to believe it’s something I consider finishing. I would definitely have to reread this one though because I barely remember what happens.

austenland

Two. Austenland by Shannon Hale Read July 2010

Jane Hayes is a seemingly normal person with a secret; she is obsessed with Fitzwilliam Darcy, the hero of Pride and Prejudice. But when she gets the opportunity to travel to an English resort transformed into a Regency era paradise complete with actors to play love interests, she wonders if she is about to kick the Austen obsession or find a Mr. Darcy of her own? 

For this one, I think I was just too young when I read it to really love it. I read it in 2010, while I was still in high school. I did like and really enjoy it at the time. But at the same time, I definitely didn’t have the perspective on life and relationships that I do now. I also overall have better understanding of Austen as a whole since reading the bulk of her work in one of my college classes.  It has a sequel based on Northanger Abbey that I’ve also read and enjoyed, but I wonder if I wouldn’t like both books more now that I have a little more life experience under my belt.

frankielandaubanks

Three: The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E Lockhart. Read November 2010

At fourteen, she’s a mildly geeky girl at a highly competitive boarding school. At fifteen, she’s a knockout with a sharp tongue and a chip on her shoulder. At sixteen, she no longer takes “no” for an answer and is a possible criminal mastermind.

This is another one I read awhile ago and while I liked it, I don’t remember too much about it. And I keep seeing this book pop up and people talk about how much they enjoyed it. So I honestly wonder if maybe I’m just forgetting how good this book is. Plus it’s just weird I don’t remember anything about this; I’m usually pretty good at remembering books I read, and it’s a Lockhart book, which are pretty memorable.

What are some books do you want to revisit? Which of these should I read first? Let me know in the comments. 

 

One thought on “Books I Would Like To Revisit

Leave a Reply

