Top Ten Tuesday: Books With a School Setting

Hey everyone! Hey everyone! It’s Tuesday, which means Top Ten Tuesday. Today we are talking about books in X setting. Well, since school starts this week for people around me (who are not me because I graduated), I figured a list of book with a school setting was in order. Let’s get started!

1: The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

When settling on this topic, this was the first book that came to mind. It’s no secret that I love Emery Lord, and this is the only book of hers with a school setting. The book takes place over the course of a school year as Paige works to convince everyone, including herself, that she’s back to normal after her boyfriend died in an accident one year ago. There a lot of things this book gets right-grief, friendship, love- but one thing it gets so so right is the high school setting. Definitely recommend.

2: Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter

This is easily one of my favorite book series. It’s about a girls boarding school for spies. What could be cooler than that? And you get to watch the characters evolve as they are going through school as problems go from normal teenage girl problems to normal spy problems. Also, they just had their covers redesigned for the ten year anniversary of the first book, and they’re beautiful.

3: Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie by David Lubar

I read this when I was in eighth grade and then again when I was in ninth. I remember really liking it and being really impressed with the story. I honestly don’t remember too much about it other than that I liked it, so it may be worth a revisit for me. Maybe not though. Also apparently there’s a sequel I knew nothing about.

4: The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

Maureen Johnson is one of those authors with a lot of excellent books with school setting. This one takes the cake for me though. Rory Deveaux arrives at her boarding school in London for a year abroad. However, there’s someone going around replication a series of brutal murders based on the Jack the Ripper killings. Overall, this book is very spooky and supernatural. It’s also part of a series.

5: Smart Girls Get What They Want by Sarah Strohmeyer

I picked this up randomly one day as a Nook deal ( I have a weakness for those.) I bought based on title alone and I thought it would be kinda cute. It’s about three friends who are quiet, nerdy girls who decide to take a stand and run for class officer and do other things they wouldn’t normally do. Maybe it’s because I went into it with low expectations, but I remember this book really impressing me. I’ve also been meaning to check out Strohmeyer’s other books for awhile and keep forgetting.

6: The Alice series by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

This is a series I keep meaning to finish but it meant so much to me growing up that I’m afraid if I do, I’ll have to become a real adult. I picked up one of these books when I was eleven, likely at the recommendation of my mom. I then proceeded to read all of them up to that point. This series is basically about a girl named Alice, who is growing up and dealing with all the stuff people gp through in middle and high school. At this point, I have very much out aged Alice, but it will be nice to have closure on the story of one of my favorite characters growing up.

7: Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok 

This was another random pick I really ended up loving, which begs the question,  “Why is this always at my library?” I swear, every time I go, there it is. It’s such an interesting read! It’s about a girl named Kimberly who moves with her mom from Hong Kong to Brooklyn and the short of challenges that entails. This is another one I read awhile I ago (I had actually just graduated from high school), but every time I see it, I think about what a remarkable book it was. I feel that says something.

8: Burn Baby Burn by Meg Medina

Ok, this is back to books I’ve read recently. With the backdrop of the Son of Sam killing spree, we follow Nora as she is about to graduate from high school and finally get away from her brother and her family life. This is kinda loose add to my list as the majority of the book does take place in a school setting, but what Nora does with her future education-wise is heavily discussed. Overall, this did not go the places I expected it to in the best possible way. I found it to be very absorbing.

9: Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton

This one is one I have not read yet, but I recently bought it for Kindle because I have heard so many great things about it. It’s about three very different girls at an elite ballet school, where tensions are high to be the best and your classmates can be your friends but also your competition. I imagine there’s a lot of drama in this book and it promises to be a thrilling read.

10: Liar by Jusine Larbalestier

This one is an older book that definitely has me intrigued (By older, I mean it came out in 2009, which is pretty old for the book blogging community, I feel) It’s about a girl who’s a compulsive liar who suddenly way over her head when her boyfriend dies unexpectedly. I remember being intrigued by this book when it came out but then heard mixed reviews on it after awhile. However, I’ve seen it compared to We Were Liars in the sense they’re kinda thriller-y and have an unreliable narrator. Though We Were Liars was way over hyped for me, I still enjoyed the premise and I feel like this will be an interesting read.

Have you read any of these books? If so, what did you think? What are some of your favorite books with a school setting? Let me know in the comments! 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books With a School Setting

    • Fiona says:

      Haha I feel the same way; I’m not in high school anymore either! They’re still fun reads though! LOVE Emery Lord. I feel you can’t go wrong with any of her books, but When We Collided is my favorite.

      Like

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I haven’t read ANY of these!! *gasp* But I totally want to read Tiny Pretty Things because I constantly hear it’s amazing and I’m curious. XD And I loooved My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalesteir so I need to read all her books basically. I didn’t realise Liar was kind of thriller-y so that just shot up higher on my TBR. ;D
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

  2. Kate says:

    I read some of the Alice books when I was much younger, but I do remember liking them.

    I haven’t read a school-setting back in awhile, but I absolutely loved “Just Listen” by Sarah Dessen. I actually loved all of her books and “The Truth About Forever” was definitely my favorite, but that took place during the summer.

    Like

    • Fiona says:

      I’ll confess I haven’t read too much Dessen. I’ve read Saint Anything and a few others. I’ll definiely have to read more of her work. The Alice series has spanned such a length of time though. The first one came out in 1985 and the series has only been wrapped up for a couple years. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

