Readathon Madness!

Hey everyone!

So I was looking at my calendar and realized there were two readathons going on next week/next weekend. Normally, I’m a hermit and don’t find out about readathons until they’ve actually started, but I guess I’ve been on the internet enough this time to find out in advance. I’m planning to participate in both, though I work all week and am going out of town that Saturday.

The first readathon I’ll be participating in is the BookTubeAThon which is hosted by Ariel Bissett. I’ve seen this one around every year and it seems like it’s pretty popular. In past years, I didn’t realize non-BookTubers could participate in the readathon, so I’m really excited to participate this year. Plus, they do book challenges on what books you read and Instagram challenges as well, in addition to video challenges, which I will not be doing. I’ve created my TBR based on the book challenges, but I will preface this by saying that I am completely and utterly a mood reader so I’ve given myself a couple options for each challenge. And there is still a chance I will throw it all to the wind and just read what I want, which I am also fine with.

Challenge 1: Read a book with yellow on the cover. 

Option 1: I Woke Up Dead at A Mall by Judy Sheehan

I actually started this one early Monday morning after getting back from playing Pokemon Go with my husband. Sarah, a New Yorker, wakes up dead in the Mall of America. Though she believes she died of food poisoning, she in told that she was actually murdered, which doesn’t make any sense because Sarah is boring and average. I had heard rumblings about this book, and when I saw it in my local library, I naturally gravitated towards it because of the bright color before realizing I had heard of this book. I didn’t get too far into it last night because I was really tired and had to be up early for work but so far so good!

Option 2: Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho

Why: Towards the end of last year, Rebecca at Book Riot could not stop talking about this book, and it got my attention. London is out of magic so Sorcerer Royal, Zacharias Wythe, must journey to Fairyland to find out why England’s magic is drying up. I have waited so long to read this and I’m really looking forward to it.

Challenge 2: Read a book only after sunset

Option 1: Burn Baby Burn by Meg Medina

I don’t think this one will be too challenging as the sunsets before 9 here and I’m usually not asleep until closer to 11. So, as long as I read my book for this challenge only after sunset I should be ok. I chose this because it was on the shorter side (310 pages) and because the backdrop is the Summer of Sam, the summer a serial killer wrecked havoc on New York City. I think it will be a little on the thriller side of things but not too much.

Option 2: Something New: Tales from a Makeshift Bride by Lucy Knisely

I have been married for one year, meaning I remember planning my wedding vividly. And I remember being sad because I didn’t get to enjoy the planning process because there was too much pressure from either side. Don’t get me wrong; I love being married to my husband every day- It’s actually the best. But the whole getting married process? Not a big fan of it. This isn’t a perception I’ve seen a lot, so I’m really looking forward to this.

Challenge 3: Read a book you discovered through BookTube

Option 1: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

This book tells the story of Laia and Elias, a slvae and soldier trapped in a Roman-esque empire with strict rules. Laia becomes a spy for a rebel movement after her brother is caught for treason, where she meets Elias, who just wants to be free of the tyranny he’s apart of. During the time I was in college, I would often duck out of the BookTube scene because I was often too busy to even consider reading for fun and I didn’t want to know what I was missing out on. When I was slowly getting back into it last year, this was the big buzzed about book. I honestly don’t remember who I saw talk about it first, but I know it was talked about a lot. I was originally put off by it; I was a little overwhelmed by my book option that I didn’t really think too much of it. But then even after the hype died down, I kept hearing about it. And then my husband and I were looking at buying it on our honeymoon when I needed another book. Then it was (and still is!) on sale in the Kindle store.

Option 2: The Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Ok, so technically, it was Red Queen that I discovered through BookTube but the sequel works, right? You all know the mixed feelings I had on Red Queen so this book I likely a make or break for me. Either I will love it and want to read the next one or I won’t love it and will feel conflicted about reading the next one. I’m kinda hesitant on it because I’ve seen some good reviews and some not so good reviews. Looking forward to seeing it for myself though.

Challenge 4: Read a book by one of your favorite authors

The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

No options for this one. I struggle with generating a list of favorite authors all the time but since I read When We Collided, I’ve been convinced that Emery Lord is actually my favorite author. And of her books, The Start of Me and You is the only one I haven’t read. Basically, Paige’s first boyfriend died in an accident and two years later, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school. After I felt all the things in When We Collided and Oped Road Summer, I am sure I will feel all the things with this one.

Challenge 5: Read a book older than you. 

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen 

This one is definitely a challenge for me; my main focus right now is catching up on books that have come out while I’ve been in school and exploring newer books. I’m honestly not expecting to get this far into the challenge based on my work schedule and other things, but I figured I should still pick something. I’ve been wanting to revisit S&S for awhile too.

Challenge 6: Read and watch a book-to-movie adaptation

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen 

This was another challenging one for me, and since we can double up, I decided to go with Sense and Sensibility again.

Challenge 7: Read 7 books.

There is no way  I am going to complete this one. I just do not have the time. But if I were to try, here are a few titles I would be interested in reading

The second readathon I’m participating is in the 24 in 48 hours readathon, which goes from July 23-24. The concept for this one is simple; read 24 of the 48 hours you’ve been given. This is a lower pressure readathon, which I like because I don’t always have a lot of time for reading. There is no TBR challenge for this one; you just read what you feel. So that’s exactly what I plan to do.

Are you participating in either of these readathons? Let me know in the comments! 

Leave a Reply

