Recent Reads

Hey everyone!

I have done quite a bit of reading the past couple month, but I have been terrible about keeping up with writing reviews. And now that so much time has passed, I’m afraid I won’t do the books justice if I try to write about them now. So that’s where mini book reviews came into play. Rather than writing a bunch of less than stellar book reviews, I’ll just write short blurbs of the books I read and cut out the fluff.

sinceyouvebeengone

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Read May 20-May 25

About: Emily’s best friend Sloane disappears in the middle of the night, leaving Emily with a list of fun and crazy activities to bring Emily out of her shell. Emily does them and enlists the help of some friends in the hope of finding Sloane.

Thoughts: If I had read this book when it came out, I probably would have loved it. Now, however, it’s just cute. Better than most like it, but still just cute. The premise was really interesting and it was fun to see timid Emily do all those things with a hint of a romance on the side. And while I did really enjoy the book as a whole, it didn’t stick with me in any certain way. It’s a book about friendship and figuring out who you are apart from the people around you. I did really enjoy all of the playlists in the book; that was a nice touch. Definitely a great summer read about friendship.

Bookstore Blurb: “Since You’ve Been Gone is the perfect book to read outside with a cold drink. A light-hearted and fun book about friendship, it is a fantastic read this summer. “

theheir

The Heir by Kiera Cass

Read May 25-May 26

About: After Maxon and America found their happily ever after in The One, you thought this series was over didn’t you? Well, you thought wrong! This book follows their daughter, Eadlyn and her own selection while trying to balance learning to run a country. And Eadlyn doesn’t even want a selection and is kinda a brat so shenanigans ensue.

Thoughts: I can’t seem to quit these books. As much as I disliked The Elite, I had to read The One to know how it ended. Then The Heir came out so of course I had to read that. I actually kinda liked Eadlyn though. Yes, she’s a total brat, but I honestly expected to her to be. And she slowly realizes over the course of the book what a brat she is. Of course, the focus of the book is the romance so we only get a glimpse of what’s really going on in the country, something I would have liked to see and understand more. My main issue with the book is that there are a couple big, major plot points and the book just ends. Some of these are expected and some are surprises , but I was still annoyed it just ended. There wasn’t even a “Where do we go from here” conversation to give the book some closure. It. Just. Ended.

Bookstore Blurb: “Get ready for another selection! The Heir tells the dramatic story of Maxon and America’s daughter, Eadlyn, and her process of finding someone to marry while also learning to run a country.” 

thecrown

The Crown by Kiera Cass

Read June 19

About: Eadlyn begins to narrow down the process of selecting a suitor while also finding out there are no friends in politics and learning more about what it takes to run a country.

Thoughts: Even though I read it a month later, it just felt right to put this with The Heir in the reviews. However, I don’t remember this one as well, except that I liked it better. This one is more about Eadlyn learning to lead and finding love. Though it did also have a bunch of plot points and just end, it did have an epilogue that didn’t really share much but let you know she was happy. The ending wasn’t really that surprising, but it was cute.

Bookstore Blurb: “In the exciting conclusion to the Selection series. Eadlyn finds love and learns to rule a country on her own. Who will she choose? How will it go? Is this really the last book in the series?” 

Have you read any of these? What did you think? Let me know in the comments.

3 thoughts on “Recent Reads

  1. youngadultfictionreviews says:

    Morgan Matson and Kiera Cass are two of my favorites! I didn’t like The Heir or The Crown as much as the first three novels in The Selection series, as I just thought America and Prince Maxon were so much sweeter than Eadlyn. I wasn’t a big fan of the ending of The Crown either, but it was nice nonetheless. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

