Top Ten Tuednesday: Top Five Reasons I Love Pokemon

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday, as always, is brought to us by The Broke and the Bookish

Hey everyone! It’s Tuesday, which means it’s Top Ten Tuesday. Even though it’s technically Wednesday, we can still celebrate Top Ten Tuesday or Top Ten Tuesdnesday as I’m going to call it.  It’s freebie week, which means you can do any topic you want! Since I missed it over the past couple of weeks, I thought I would do the top 10 reasons I love X topic. And since the Pokemon National Championships is this weekend, I figured there would be no better topic to do than Pokemon!

It’s nostalgic for me

I have been playing Pokemon since I was 7 years old. That’s a long time for a video game series, in my opinion. I’ve played it as a child, as a teenage, and now as an adult. I’ve played it as a single lady and as a married lady. Because I’ve been playing it so long and have had so many different experiences with it, the franchise as a whole is very nostalgic for me.

 All the different critters are really interesting.

I think the inherent appeal of Pokemon is all of the different critters but it’s fun learning about them, collecting them, and using them in battle. They are all so different the combinations to use on your team are endless. I feel like as I learn new things about each ‘mon, my appreciation for them grows and I find new favorites all the time, even if they’ve been around awhile.

It relaxes me.

I can’t explain it, but when I’m having a rough day, all I wanna do is curl up and either read or play Pokemon. Now generally, I won’t play competitive mons because that’s just a bad idea. But I find playing through a game with a new team very relaxing. It’s familiar enough but still a new experience.

I feel like I’m still figuring out new things.

While Pokemon games are still a familiar experience for me, I am constantly learning new things, using Pokemon I’ve never used before, etc. This time last year, I started to learn about competitive Pokemon run by the Pokemon company (VGC), so that propelled a whole year of learning about different strategies for that, plus other competitive formats as well.

I’ve made friends through it

This is an important one. I was always a shy child and can still be a shy person. While I had friends in my cousins and the people I went to daycare with, Pokemon helped me branch out and make friends at school, which unfortunately did not serve me well when I moved. However, it’s been a point of connection with several people I’ve become friends with in real life and a way I’ve been able to make friends on the internet. Even though the series came out in the 90s, it can still be a point of connection in 2016

Those are a few of the reasons I love Pokemon. There are many more but those are the five big ones. Do you have a similar love for the franchise? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

