Top Ten Beach Reads

toptentuesday2

Hey everyone!

Today’s Tuesday, which means it’s time for Top Ten Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesday, as always, is brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s topic is beach reads. I sadly do not live near a beach and while I could and do go to the lake, it’s just not the same to me. I decided to do two mini-lists, one of books I have read and can recommend and one that are books I want to read that I think would be good summer reads. Now, to me summer screams contemporary YA, so this list will be full of those kind of books.

Have Read

1. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

I actually just read this recently, and it is the perfect summer read. Emily’s best friend disappears and only has a list she made to go on. It includes things like “Hug a Jamie” and “Steal Something”. It’s a fun contemporary read and great for the start of summer.

2. Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

Really, any Sarah Dessen would be great for summer, but Saint Anything is the one I read most recently and I really enjoyed it. I love the way she writes; it’s very engrossing and genuine.

3. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

So this book is kinda a different pick for me. It was really buzzed when it first came out and once I finally read, it was overhyped for me. However, I have never forgotten this book, and I still think about it on a regular basis. I’ve been debating rereading it but I still remember a lot of assorted details.

4. A really long series.

Ok, this is a bit of a cop out answer, but I think summer is the perfect time to read long series especially if it’s fantasy, sci-fi or dystopian. A few summers ago, I read the Hex Hall series by Rachel Hawkins and it was excellent. This summer, I think Throne of Glass is gonna be the series. I’ve read the first two so far and have plans to catch up in the series by the time the last book comes out this fall.

5. 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

This book is the perfect beach read if you’re not going anywhere exciting this summer. It’s about a girl who travels to Europe, following instructions left by her aunt. These instructions take her on all kinds adventures. I’ve read this a few times when I’ve traveled and it never lets me down.

 

To Read

1. The Sqaure Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood

I have been seeing this book everywhere recently. It’s about a girl who is breaking time; she is travelling back through her own life and reliving big life events and trying to figure out why time is falling apart on her. I have a weakness for books on time travel.

2. Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

My goal this summer is to read an Emery Lord book- I followed her on Twitter randomly one day and I absolutely love her tweets so I imagine I’d feel similar about her books. This one though has summer in the title, so obviously it’s the perfect summer read. Plus, it has a road trip which is one of my favorite things to read about. And it has country music in it, which is a very summery genre of music for me.

3. Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here by Anne Breslaw

This is the book I would have needed in high school. Scarlett starts writing fan fiction about her classmates with more drama than her favorite tv show. Basically, this seems like the perfect book to read outside.

4. Burn Baby Burn by Meg Medina

This is a book I first heard about on the All the Books podcast.  I think it was featured as an ad, but it sounded really intriguing. It’s basically about a girl named Nora living in New York in 1977, which is apparently the summer of the Son of Sam serial killer. But Nora has her own family and school problems and as she starts to fall for a boy, she wonders if dating is even worth it. This seems like a fun summer romance read with a murderous twist.

5. Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly

Meremaid books seem like a great choice for summer, especially if you’re sitting at a beach.

What are some of your favorite beach reads? Let me know in the comments!

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Beach Reads

Leave a Reply

