Bring Me Back by Michalea Smeltzer

bringmebackNOTE FROM THE AUTHOR
I could have put the typical blurb here.
Boy meets girl.
They fall in love.
Live happily ever after.
The end.
But this isn’t THAT story.

Just to forewarn you, this book is going to be very difficult to talk about without spoiling what happens, at least towards the beginning of the book. It’s the kind of book you have to pick up not going what’s gonna happen or you won’t really get the full experience.

The book’s blurb doesn’t really give you a whole lot to go on, which I understand is kinda the intention. You’re intended to go in blind, which I did. All I had to go on was the recommendation of a friend and her review that went up on her blog shortly after. Since I am always down to try new books, I went ahead and splurged the $.99 it was on Amazon and bought it. Then after a couple days, I finished my current read and decided I would give it a chance.

And I’m so glad I did.

Bring Me Back is a novel of human emotion. It’s a story about dealing with a crap hand in life. Without giving too much away, this is the story of Blaire, her world falling apart, and how she put it back together. As for the big, life changing event, I could kinda tell it was coming from the beginning-the book starts happy and no book that starts happy stays happy. Readers would be bored otherwise. And even though I knew the twist was coming, it didn’t lessen the pain. The pain felt raw and genuine, and though I have never gone through a situation like that, I felt it was very believable.

Watching Blaire have to crawl her way out of this situation was challenging. Even if you don’t care about the character, watching someone go through this is hard. It is not something I would wish on my worst enemy. Watching her come out of this stronger than before was amazing; she emerges a completely different character by the end of the book.

While I really enjoyed this book and watching Blaire grow, I did have some problems with it. Ben seemed too perfect to me; it didn’t feel real. I also think Ryder could have used a little more development- I would have liked to learn more about him. Lastly, I would have liked to learn more about her friends and their group dynamic. We see a few of them individually but I would have liked to see more of them in a group. Basically, I just wanted to know more about all of the other characters.

This book doesn’t follow you’re typical plot structure. The post climatic event, in my opinion, happens towards the beginning and most everything after center around that. The secondary plot is really her falling in love again and another plot that is introduced later and is really spoiler-heavy. I still really enjoyed the ending, especially the epilogue. It was a comfort to see that even a few years down the road, they were all still happy.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It was a little different from my usual read as an adult romance. It’s a story about love and loss and finding your way back after a traumatic event. If you like romance but are looking for something different, I would recommend this.

Bookstore Rec Blurb: “Bring Me Back is a story of love and loss and learning to love again. Not your typical romance. Read with tissues nearby.”

Leave a Reply

