Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

toptentuesday2

Hey everyone!

Woah, that title’s a doozy! Today’s Top Ten Tuesday, as always is brought to use by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s topic is books I feel differently about after time has passed. For this list, I went back to my Goodreads shelves from at least two years ago or more (I joined in summer of 2010, so a solid four years of books to shift through) and picked ones where my perspective has changed either for the better or for the worst. As usual, this not a ranked list, so these are in no particular order.

Paper Towns by John Green Read 2010

There was a period of about four years where this was my favorite book and John Green was my favorite author. While Paper Towns still holds a special place in my heart, I recognize that’s it not the perfect book I once thought it to be. It has some issues in language. I have yet to reread it since graduating college or possibly high school. It’s one I’d like to revisit with a critical eye to see how I feel about it now.

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins Read 2011, 2013

This is a great example of why I choose to reread books. I originally read this in 2011 and didn’t think too much of it. It was ok, but I was in no hurry to continue the series. Flash forward to 2013, when I reread the book, really enjoyed it, and carried on to read the whole series. I don’t know if I needed to gain some sort of perspective or  if it just wasn’t the right time for me to read it, but when I came back to it, I loved it.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte Read 2011, 2013

I think this sort of thing happens a lot with classics. When I first read Jane Eyre in 2011, it was for myself but also there was the movie coming out that I wanted to see with my mom so my reading was also inspired by that. On first read, I didn’t really get it. I liked it, I could see why others liked it, but I liked Austen better. I held that stance for several years until I took a class on 19th century British authors and we read Jane Eyre. That time, I got it. Maybe it’s because we were having in depth discussions about for a few weeks and unpacking everything, but it really changed my perception of the book. I actually have been meaning to go back and reread it again this year to see if my perspective has shifted at all.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald Read 2008, 2011, 2013, 2014

I have read this book a lot! I picked up my freshman year of high school and was iffy on it. I picked it up again my senior year and loved it so much I decided to write a paper on it in 2013 for my critical approaches class. Then in 2014, I took Modern American Fiction, a genre where Gatsby is pretty much required reading. I was less in love with it then, since I think I had picked it apart to death at that point. I still really like it though. I will probably revisit it in a few years.

Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell Read 2012

I saw this movie maybe my freshman year of high school and absolutely loved it! Then I attempted to read the novel. That was a challenging feat that I finally accomplished in 2012. I really liked it at the time. Now, however, I recognize what a terrible, terrible representation of slavery it is. This is something I never thought about at the time. I think if I were to return to it today, I would be more focused on that than the romance element of it, which is what originally drew me to it.

What are some books that changed over time for you? Was it for the better or for worse? Let me know in the comments. 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

  1. Esther says:

    I’ve not read Gone with the Wind, but the same thing happened to me with the movie. I went into the movie pretty ignorant of the context and representation, but now that I know more about the subject, I know I wouldn’t like it anymore!
    And that’s so funny about the Great Gatsby, it’s varied a lot for you through the years 😛
    Here’s my post if you want to check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fiona says:

      Yeah, I can’t read Gatsby for another five years at least! The amount of rereads in that short amount of time is crazy. I’m glad I’m not the only one who had that issue with Gone With the Wind though!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Rissi says:

    I’ve been interested in reading “Hex Hall” for a while now. I’ll have to look into reading that series asap. 🙂 Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland today, Fiona. 🙂

    Like

  3. laurenheartsbooks says:

    I feel the same way about John Green books! And definitely agree with you about revisiting the classics, especially those that were read when I was too young to fully “get them.” Great list! 🙂

    Like

    • Fiona says:

      I’m glad I’m not the only one with his books! I think I’ve definitely “grown out of them” if that’s a thing. Also, revisiting classics is fantastic. I have a few more I’ve read I intend to revisit one day.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Katie says:

    I only read The Great Gatsby once, but I really enjoyed it. However, when I finally saw the movie (original) earlier this year, all I could focus on is how most of the characters are such terrible people. It makes me not want to read the book again, because I’m afraid I won’t like the book anymore.

    Like

    • Fiona says:

      Yeah, the characters’ aren’t particularly likable. I’ve never seen the original movie, but maybe they placed special emphasis on how terrible they are, which is why you noticed so much. I get not wanting to read the book again for that reason though.

      Like

  5. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    I feel the same way about John Green, though now I’ve realised that it’s because all his teenage characters come across as incredibly pretentious and unrealistic to me, haha. I used to love Looking for Alaska, but then I read it when I was younger and thus didn’t have the critical eye that I (hope I) do now.

    Here’s my TTT, if you’re interested. 🙂

    Like

    • Fiona says:

      That sums up my feelings on a lot of books I read as a teenager perfectly. I hopefully have more of a critical eye now so I don’t think some books are as good as I once thought. Also, I 100% agree about Green’s characters.

      Like

  6. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    AHh, I do understand about John Green’s books! I still adore them but I think a lot of that is nostalgia. 😛 I think his books have super good messages, but eeh, yeah, sometimes they’re not different enough from each other too? I DO like re-reading books and liking them more the second time round though!! THAT IS SUCH A GOOD FEELING!! That was me and The Winner’s Curse! I only gave it 3-stars the first time, but it was nearly 5-stars the second. 😀
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    • Fiona says:

      Yeah, John Green has a lot of nostalgia for me. Re-reading books a second time around and liking them better is always great. I keep hearing about how good The Winner’s Curse is! I’ll have to check it out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

