Favorite Songs of the Moment

Hey everyone!

I am sure this happens to everyone. Every so often for me, I find myself listening to the same songs on repeat. I often compile a playlist of these songs on my Spotify whenever I remember. In the past, I’ve done a couple Music  Today, I share some of my current favorites.

One. “Sit Still Look Pretty” by Daya

Oh, I don’t know what you’ve been told, but this gal right here’s gonna rule the world. 

My friend Jessica actually sent this to me recently, saying I would love this song. She was right. It’s such an upbeat and positive song. The song’s message is all about female empowerment and I am here for that. It’s also annoying how catchy it is. It makes me feel like I can take on the world. Also by her: “Hide Away”, which is another catchy, excellent song.

Two. “Spirits” by The Strumbellas

And I don’t want a never ending life, I just wanna be alive while I’m here.

I can’t explain it; this song reminds me of weariness. Like it reminds me of the feeling of driving home from work at the end of the week and just trying to figure out what I am going to make of this one precious life. Currently, I feel as if I am questing for “my true purpose” i.e. the type of career I’m supposed to have. And that can get tiring, especially when I know what I’m doing now won’t last. This song speaks to that feeling in me, which I think is why I like this song so much.

Three. “Gone” JR JR

I can’t be everything you want me to be. Finally, I can see the light through the trees. But it’s all gone. 

This is another driving home from work song. Like many, I sometimes feel like people expect too much from me. I particularly felt this way at my last job. And ultimately, part of that feeling was the reason I decided to pursue other opportunities. This song also pairs nicely with “Spirits” because it also has that what-am-I-doing-with-my-life feeling.

Four. “I Still Believe’ by Frank Turner

And I still believe that everyone can find a song for every time they’ve loss and every time they’ve won.

Back to a happy song! I recently found out how much I love all of Frank Turner’s music, but this song sticks out to me. A lot of Frank Turner’s music is like the last two songs- deep, a little dark, and thought provoking. This song, however, is simply about the joy of playing and experiencing music. This is the kind of song that’s fun to just dance to and lifts your spirits. Also recommended: “The Next Storm” which is also an upbeat song about moving on.

Five. “New Oasis” Hembree

We can build upon the shore. Follow every sign until we glow. Let the tide wash us all home. Follow every sign to a new oasis right for everyone.  

Story Time: I have this thing where I go to a concert to see one band but I end up really liking the opener too. I did this when I saw Bleachers (ended up loving Misterwives) and when I saw Bastille this past December. While Bastille was amazing and I would definitely see them again, I also came out of that concert really loving Hembree. My husband bought the EP, and it lives in my car now. I like all of the songs, but I think this one is my favorite.

What are some of your favorite songs recently? Let me know in the comments! 

Leave a Reply

