What I’ve Been Watching Recently

Hey everyone!

I’m usually not a huge Netflix person; I’m usually too tired at the end of the day to watch too much TV or I’m too busy to sit down and watch something. However, this changed for me recently. With my hours getting cut back at my old job and it being too cold to much else this winter, I’ve been finding myself gravitating towards the TV a lot more. Which has led to me being on the hunt for good shows to watch. So today, I’m going to share some of the shows I’ve been watching recently as well as some of my favorites.

The Flash Available on Netflix

This is something my husband and I started watching together. I thought I would like it, but I didn’t think I would like it as much as I do. It’s your typical superhero sort of show. It tells the story of Barry Allen, CSI guy for the Central City Police Department, who is determined to find out who killed his mother many years ago, a crime for which his father was wrongfully convicted. Then, he gets struck by lightning and becomes the Flash. There’s also a little bit of romance connected to it but not a lot. I’m really caught up in the story and can’t wait until my husband gets home most nights so we can watch an episode or two together. When we finally finished the first season, I was so sad it was over, even though the second season will start soon.

Scandal Available on Netflix

This one was a recommendation from my friend Jessica. She started watching it last fall and recommended it to me. It took me until a couple months ago to get around to it. But I easily devoured the first season and am quickly making my way through the second. This is a really dramatic, intense show. It tells the story of Olivia Pope, who’s job it is to fix things, which basically means she’s in crisis communication PR, I think. And the show basically follows her and her personal choices. I don’t want to spoil too much but it’s excellent. It got to the point that for awhile I couldn’t watch it before going to bed simply because I would keep watching and would not go to bed. Ever. I will say that according to my friend who’s caught up, it’s a show that fizzles out over time, meaning the quality goes down. I had kinda noticed it at the point I’m at currently, but apparently it gets more pronounced.

Gilmore Girls Available on Netflix

This isn’t a new show for me, rather it’s one I’ve been in love with for a long time. I started watching Gilmore Girls when it came to ABC Family. I would come home after school, and it was the first thing I did. I started watching right when it went on ABC Family, and they were in sequence so I was happy I got to watch in order. By the time, I got “caught up” (initially ABC Family only played through season four), season 5 (or 6, I’m really not sure) was happening. I tried to watch it when I could and got all the box sets as they came out of course. A lot of times, I had something going on when the show was actually airing, so my parents would record them for me. And that was how I viewed the final episode. Even though I own all the seasons, I have never done a full rewatch. Sure when I had cable, I would watch it if it was on or I’d watch a favorite episode if I felt so inclined. However, when the show came to Netflix, I thought it was high time I rewatch the show. But with graduating, getting married, and all those other big life events, I didn’t really have time until the very end of last year. I’m finding I don’t like certain things I remember liking and liking things I don’t remember particularly liking.  Now I’m following along with the Gilmore Guys podcast. I am almost caught  up to where they are, so then I will have to slow my roll with the episodes.

Those are some of the TV shows I’ve been watching recently. Of course, with my new job, I don’t have as much time as I did to watch TV. But I still find some time.

What shows have you been watching recently? What are some of your favorites I should watch? Let me know in the comments. 

Leave a Reply

