Transitions, or Where I’ve Been the Past Month

It has been well over a month since my last post and while I hate to keep doing that, this time I feel it was for a good reason. Yes, ladies and gents, I already  achieved one of my goals for 2016: I got a new job. It has better pay and better hours. It’s still not something I want to do forever, so I’m still on the hunt for the perfect job, but this move is definitely a step in the right direction of where I want to be.

However, with starting a new job in a new area comes a lot of clumsiness and stumbling. I came from a job I had been at nearly two years where I knew most things, if not everything. Not that there was particularly a lot to know but I could do it all if need be. Now, I feel that I know nothing and constantly have to rely on others for help, which is a struggle for me. I have hated asking for help as long as I can remember; I don’t know what it is, I just hate to do it. Because of this, I often find myself feeling incapable after a long day of work. I know I will eventually be able to do everything but first I have to learn all of it.

Then there’s the social aspect of work. At my previous job, the turnover rate was relatively high and it was a moderate sized staff so while there were some people I would work with most days or even every day, there was always some change in the mix. Now I work with the same six people every day. And some of them have worked here longer than I’ve been alive. True, they’ve all been very nice but I still feel like the outsider most of the time.

However, in spite of these things, I like my new job. I like getting off roughly the same time every day and having stores still be open. I like having Sundays off so I can rest and spend a little time with my husband and family. I like knowing how many hours I’ll get a week with minimal fluctuation. I like being able to commit to things without worrying if I’ll end up working late or if I’ll unexpectedly have to go into work. Even though it’s not something I love to do and want to do the rest of my life, it’s something that will pay the bills and eat.

That’s basically an update of where my life is at currently. I haven’t really been reading a lot, haven’t really tried anything new or been doing anything exciting. I would promise this would be the end of my hiatus and that I will start updating more frequently but I don’t want to make promises I can’t keep. This has always been a casual thing for me, likely always will be. But I will post as much as possible when I can.

Do you have any advice for life transitions? Are you going through one right now? Let me know in the comments. 

One thought on “Transitions, or Where I’ve Been the Past Month

Leave a Reply

