My Next 10 Books

So this is an idea I as saw on YouTube and thought was too good. Rather than doing a monthly TBR (which I know I would of follow) this is something that’s more my speed. Rather than just guessing how much I’ll read in a month I can just guess what books I’m going to read. Seeing as this is a third of the books I plan to read this year. I’m sure these posts wont’t be too frequent.

1. See How They Run by Ally Carter

So I have loved Ally Carter books for a long time, specifically the Gallagher Girls series.And when I first heard about the Embassy Row series (when it was announced because I follow Ally Carter on Twitter) I knew it would be in my wheelhouse. Unfortunately with school, I didn’t get to the first book, All Fall Down, until this past winter because of real life commitments. It was so good though. I may have to go back and review it. So when this came out, I picked it up. This series tells the story of Grace, the granddaughter of a powerful ambassador. Without giving too much away, this book picks up where the last one left off as Grace’s past comes back to haunt her.

2. Storm Glass by Maria V. Snyder

A long time ago, I read the Poison Study series by Maria V Snyder for a book club I was a part of. It was really good and I really liked it, so I decided to start the next series by her, which is this one. That was five years ago now, so I’m thinking I should get around to it. Since this is a spin off series, I think I remember enough about the first series to start it. This series is about Opal, a minor character from the Study series. She’s a glass maker and magician-in-training. Someone begins sabotaging the Stormdancers, a powerful clan, and they require her help to stop it. As this is happening, Opal discovers a new kind of magic she must learn to control.

3. Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt

This is one of those books I’ve been seeing around in stores since it came out in 2012. And it’s something I’d pick up, read the back,and think it would be something I would like. Then I would never buy it or write down the title because that’s what I do. Then, one magical day, I found it in the clearance section of Half-Priced Books for two dollars. And I bought it. And soon, I will read it. This book takes place in the 80s. This is a coming-of-age story. It tells the story of June Elbus, who feels the only person who understands her is her uncle. When he dies, her world is turned upside down.

4. Trash by Dorothy Allison

My junior year of college, I took a US women writers class, which is one of my favorite classes I’ve ever taken. In that class, we read Dorothy Allison’s Bastard Out of Carolina, which is one of my favorite books-as odd as I feel that is to say. So I decided I wanted to read all of her work. This is a short story collection, so I’m not sure when I’ll get to it/how long it will take me to read. I also need to emotionally prepare myself to read Dorothy Allison.

5. Inherent Vice by Thomas Pynchon

I don’t remember how it came up, but one day, one of my friends and I were talking and she told me how much she loved Pynchon. I had never heard of him, so I asked her what she recommended starting with, and she said Inherent Vice. So I went out and bought a copy. It’s a novel about the end of sixties that has a little bit of noir vibe.

6. Newt’s Emerald by Garth Nix

So I went to the library this week for the first time in forever to pay my fines and pick up a new books. And while I was doing that, I came across this book. I had never heard of it, which is a bit of a rarity for me, but then I saw it was by Garth Nix, who even though I haven’t read, I knew he was a good author. And when I saw it was a Regency romance, I was sold. I have minimal expectations for this book and I intend to go in as blind as possible. I only know that Lady Truthful will inherit her family’s treasure on her eighteenth birthday, and before that happens, it’s stolen.

7. The Appearance of Annie van Sinderen by Katherine Howe

This is the only book I’m on the fence about. I picked it up at the library, read the inside cover, thought it was intriguing but has a high potential to be cliche. So I’m not quite sure when I will get to it but I think I’ll definitely give it at least a chance. It’s the story of Wes Auckerman and Annie. Wes has come to NYC for a summer film course, and he meets Annie, whom he finds enchanting. It’s very much a boy meets girls tory, but the way it’s described intrigues me.

8. My Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem

This is the book they are reading in Emma Watson’s book club, Our Shared Shelf. As someone who’s a fan of Emma Watson, I decided I would casually join and give it a shot. This is another book I don’t know too much about but I’m excited to read it. It’s an autobiography of her early years and how it led her to lead more of a nomadic lifestyle, referred to as an on-the-road lifestyle.

9. Big Magic: Creatively Living Beyond Fear by Elizabeth Gilbert

This is a book I’ve had my eye on as I’ve seen it around but I think this is a book I need to read asap, even though it’s outside my normal wheelhouse. I’m not sure I’ll love it and I’m not sure what I’ll take away from it but I still think I need to read it to get those creative juices flowing. Elizabeth shares her creative process and how that has helped her in her writing.

10. Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho

This is a book I’m really hyped about. I first heard about on the Book Riot podcast and I knew it was for me. This is the only book I don’t have in my possession yet but I am so excited to read it I can barely contain myself. It’s the story of Zacharias Wythe, a freed salve and Sorcerer Royal of the Unnatural Philosophers. He is on adventure to Fairyland to discover why English’s magic is drying up.  It also takes place in the Victorian era.

Have you read any of these books? Do you want to read any of them? Let me know in the comments. 

Leave a Reply

