Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Just Added to my TBR

Top Ten Tuesday was started by Broke and Bookish. Every Tuesday, they suggest a topic and make a list of their top ten whatever. This week is a freebie, and since I planned to do last week’s topic and didn’t get around to it, so I’m doing 10 books I most recently added to my TBR.

Now, how I’m doing this is 10 books I most recently added to my Goodreads TBR. These are books I either found out about recently or want to remember for later whenever I’m looking for books to read.

1. The Fortune Hunter by Daisy Goodwin

I recently found out that one of my favorite bloggers, Carly at The College Prepster, started a Goodreads book club. I have been a fan of her blog for a long time and shelved a lot of books based on her recommendations. This one is the story of a late nineteenth century empress who falls in love with the wrong person. I love historical books, and this one looks promising.

2. The Appearance of Annie van Sinderen by Katherine Howe

This is a book that’s going to be in tomorrow’s post too. Basically, I picked it up at my local library. After I find books I haven’t previously shelved, I try to shelve them when I get home so I can easily find them when I start to read them. As for why I picked it up, I was on the fence because it seemed kinda stereotypical ( boy-meets-girl, boy falls in love, you know the drill) but something seems different about it.

3. Newt’s Emerald by Garth Nix

See above. Except it’s a regency romance (or parody not sure yet.)

4. Contents May Have Shifted by Pam Houston

This is where we start to see the effects listening the various Book Riot podcasts has on the books I shelve. Amanda recommended it on the Get Booked podcast, which recommends different books each week. This was on last week’s episode and I forget what the question was but Amanda recommended it if you were feeling restless in your life, and that pretty much sums me up at this point. It’s about a woman who is unsatisfied in her life and packs up to travel the world. In doing so, she experiences personal growth and learns the value of home.

5. This is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

This book was on the main Book Riot podcast. It’s about a school shooting and takes place over the course of 54 hours. This one just sounds very gripping, compelling, read-in-one sitting kind of book.

6. Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-Free Productivity by David Allen

This is another book that comes courtesy of the Get Booked podcast. Since I struggle with the problem of liking too many things, I’m very interested in learning how to get more done and increase my productivity.

7. My Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem

This is the book for Emma Watson’s book club, Our Shared Shelf. This is Gloria’s story of her life traveling in her early years. This is not something I would have picked up on my own, but I’m excited to read it nonetheless.

8. The Dead Duke, His Secret Wife, and the Missing Corpse: An Extraordinary Edwardian Case of Deception and Intrigue by Piu Marie Eatwell

This book also comes courtesy of a Book Riot podcast, this time All the Books. It’s the story of the Druce-Portland affair, which is a weird legal case that involves people faking their deaths and full of legal entanglements. Honestly, this a real life mystery that sounded too good to pass up, even with a ridiculously long time.

9. Lumberjanes #1 by Noelle Stevenson

This is actually a combination recommendation. I had heard about it on the various Book Riot podcasts but still had it pretty low on my list of books to get to. Then, I read Nimona by the same author at the tail end of last year and knew it was something I had to read. This one is the story of five friends who want to have an awesome summer without anything including the supernatural getting in their way.

10. Zodiac by Romina Russell

I’m not sure how this one was added. I’m guessing I saw it at the bookstore and wanted to remember the title. It’s a world where each planet is based on one of the signs of the zodiac. And one of the planets has disappeared. Glancing at the profile on Goodreads, it could either be really good or terrible. I guess I’ll have to read it to find out.

And those are the ten books I’ve most recently added to my TBR shelf. What have you added recently? Let me know in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Just Added to my TBR

Leave a Reply

