2016 Goals

Hey everyone!

Sorry it’s been so long since I last updated. The holidays really got the best of me this year in terms of things I wanted to do versus things I could actually get done. Which really led to a lot of reflection among the craziness, which is how I got to my personal and professional goals for 2016.

Find a new job. 

This is the first goal I want to accomplish because I think the right job will free up a lot of time and energy for me though there will probably be an adjustment period to go along with it. I really think that it will have the most positive impact right now. The most difficult part of this will be finding the right job that fits what I need most right now, which is set hours with some flexibility.

Compete at Kansas City Regionals for VGC. 

I’d like to compete at more but figuring in travel costs and time, if I only go to Kansas City Regionals I will be content. Obviously, I’d love to do really well but I’m not going to hold my breath since it will be my first regional. I’d also like to compete in a premier challenge before then just to test the waters with the 2016 meta but that requires knowing when they are and being able to take off work to go to one.  I also just generally want to improve my skill at competitive battling too.

Read 30 books. 

Reading has always been a huge part of my life, which is why I ended up with an English degree. However, with less free time and other interests, I have less time to read in general than previous years. My previous reading goal has always been 50 books-that’s a book a week with two weeks off. I have since cut it back to 30 books which is a little more than one book every other week.

So these are my three big goals for 2016. I have some other goals as well, which are pretty self-explanatory. Things like “get back into my Bible” and “go to the gym.” What are your goals? Let me know in the comments. Let’s keep each other accountable.

Leave a Reply

