The Maze Runner Book Review

maze runnerIf you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.

Once again, I am running super behind on blog  posts. This work-life balance thing is killing me. I’m hoping to adjust some time soon because I want to get to posting three times a week. But for now, let’s get into the book review.

I picked up The Maze Runner during my layover on my way back from Cancun. I still had a little left of the book I was reading before that, so I only got a little read on my trip. Once we got back, life got busy, and it ended up taking me a month to read this book.

The Maze Runner tells the story of Thomas who wakes up without any memory of who he was. He and the other boys at the camp are stuck attempting to figure out the maze, a mystery to be solved.

Part of the reason it took me so long to read this book is because I found it very slow. Much of it was Thomas asking questions and getting yelled at for it, which gets boring after awhile. There were maybe three major events in the first three-fourths of the book, which led to several lulls. By the end of the book (where it finally got interesting), I just didn’t care anymore.

I kept waiting until something made me care about the characters, but it never came. They all seemed kinda bland to me. I didn’t care about Thomas until the very end, and even then I only kinda cared. I kept getting all the other boys confused and they all kinda ran together in my head, so I was apathetic to anything that happened to them. Teresa was also bland to me. I just couldn’t bother to care about any of the characters.

I’m torn on whether or not I’ll read the next book in the series. While I didn’t enjoy the book, the concept itself was interesting and the way the book ended, I’m interested to see how the series would progress. What I’ll probably end up doing is after my husband reads this book, if he continues and thinks the next one is good, I’ll read it. I haven’t seen the movie based of this book either, but if I watch it, I’ll definitely review it.

Bookstore Rec Blurb: “Maze Runner is interesting conceptually but gets hung up in the mystery of it all. Bland characters asking questions with a twist ending. Recommended if interested in the concept but interesting characters aren’t important to you.”

Have you read this book? What did you think? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

