The Shadow Cabinet by Maureen Johnson Book Review

Featured imageThe thrilling third installment to the Edgar-nominated, bestselling series.

Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries to determine if she acted in time to save a member of the squad. If she did, how do you find a ghost? Also, Rory’s classmate Charlotte has been kidnapped by Jane and her nefarious organization. Evidence is uncovered of a forty-year-old cult, ten missing teenagers, and a likely mass murder. Everything indicates that Charlotte’s in danger, and it seems that something much bigger and much more terrible is coming.

Time is running out as Rory fights to find her friends and the ghost squad struggles to stop Jane from unleashing her spectral nightmare on the entire city. In the process, they’ll discover the existence of an organization that underpins London itself—and Rory will learn that someone she trusts has been keeping a tremendous secret.

I’ve been hyped for this series pretty much since the first book, The Name of the Star, was announced. This is the third book in that series. Coming off a serious cliffhanger in the second book, The Madness Underneath,  plus a not-very-enjoyable reading experience all around, I had hope that this book would answer a lot of my questions and turn the series around.

And boy, it did!

I don’t know if it’s because I hadn’t read a book for fun in awhile (thanks, college) but I could not put this book down. I started reading it the night before my bridal shower when I got home from work and I was up until 3am reading. That never happens to me. This book felt a lot more plot driven than the previous two, and though there was a lot I forgot, the book did a good job of catching me up.

As for the events of the book, I’ll attempt to keep it as spoiler free as possible. Basically, anything the reader is confused about with Charlotte’s disappearance, why Jane is crazy, etc. is explained and processed. The massive cliffhanger at the end of The Madness Underneath isn’t resolved until the very end of the novel; it’s processed throughout but not resolved. Honestly, I think that was a very interesting tactic on the author’s part and I’ll be interested to see what comes in the next book, which is currently untitled and with no release date.

Overall, I’d say if you love The Name of the Star and The Madness Underneath, you’ll love this. Even if you maybe didn’t love The Madness Underneath  as much, like me, I would definitely recommend picking up this book anyway.

Bookstore Rec Blurb: “The Shadow Cabinet picks up where The Madness Underneath left off and keeps you on the exciting paranormal thrill ride. Definitely recommend for lovers of mystery and the paranormal.”

Leave a Reply

